Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Life story

by gmaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game tells the story of two people who loves each other but a stupid misunderstanding has made them split up. As a result they are single and depressed now and they really need your help to put things right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#380Graphics3.43
#424Audio2.96
#431Mood3.13
#575Theme3.24
#658Overall3.08
#782Humor2.13
#899Fun2.62
#912Innovation2.59

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Really like that you choose a "people" subtheme, like me.
I'm so impresed by the pixel art, pretty good work!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I like this game's graphics.

Zyper says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Yea. Graphics are very good :) You're very talented!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:56pm

It's kind of like a game built largely around the drowning mechanics of Sonic. Very cool and moody!

monaarc says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice pixel art ! Some bugs but the game is alright

Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I really like the graphics of this game ! :p

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

Really nice!

puckers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

Love the bubble sound! So sensual haha. Nice pixel art too!

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

funny game with good pixel graphics. I especially liked the water particle effects.

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Kind of needs some guidelines? I swam around until I died, not knowing what I was supposed to do at all^^ I like the start of the game, simple story telling at it's best!

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:19am

really oppressive. Good game design, bubbles come at the right moment.
the platform part have collision problems, but it isn't the bigger part so not serious problem.

Atta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Jesus inspired game? Cause you can walk on the water ;)
Nice graphics.

foolmoron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Really good art and controls. Bubbles are spaced out well, but I had no idea where to go at one point and died.

gwa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice in mine Game the Couple get also seperated at the beginning :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Art and sound design were really nice.

larouxn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Very, very good graphics. Tight game play. Clear objective. What more could you ask for? Okay, maybe a killer soundtrack, but still, fantastic job!

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very nice polished graphics and audio!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:19am

The graphics are nice. Fun game.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

That was a pretty neat game. I like puzzles who are not afraid to be hard. There are some graphical glitches (squares showing up around the sprites), but the game in general is pretty solid.

Thanks for the game!

angelk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

Fucking Romantic

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:24am

Liked the idea but for me it ran so jerkily that it was hard to play.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:27am

This game is pretty good! Simple, but fun.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The game has solid tiles, but a maze-like gameplay. I felt I only got so far because I happened to stumble upon the correct direction. There certainly were not enough air bubbles underwater to facilitate exploring unless you know exactly where you're going. I didn't end up finishing it because dying meant playing the whole game over from the beginning. Checkpoints and/or more bubbles would have made this game less frustrating.

I did however, love the audio. Good ambient light background music, coupled with the breathing really set the mood.

MidCry says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Like the story and beautiful aesthetics ... Well done

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Goood graphics and audio, But didn't understand the gameplay

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Really liked the story and the dialogue! Graphics were also very nice. Fun game!

terraco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:42am

Really like the graphics in this

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:16am

Couldn't play past the water (overwhelming fear of water levels). But I really liked what I saw up until then.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Some nice touches in there, eg, the swimming and the breathing when he starts running out of air.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The goal was made very clear right from the start, and that's a very strong point. I like the pixel art, and the water looks really nice. After the initial goal though, I found myself pretty lost. Jumping around was fun, but I had a difficult time figuring out how to progress. A little more polish and direction would really make this game shine.

Vandash says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice game, but I could never figure out the mechanics behind when you jump higher than normal, so it can a bit frustrating when jumping from one place to another

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I like the graphics on the screen shots but when I play the game it looks like it upscaled 3 or 4 times and looks all blury. Nonetheless, looking at the screen shots, I can get a clear idea.
I liked the story too and found the control very responsive.
Your story leaves space for the player's imagination to fill the gaps. Another good point.
I haven't beaten it yet but I'll definitely try again.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:27am

Very interesting, atmospheric. I swam a lot and then I drowned. I'll have to explore more to see what's going on. The mysteriousness of it has me hooked.

May 12, 2014 @ 1:56am

Super laggy for me :/ I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:17am

I liked it. At first I thought there wasn't a lot to do, but then I discovered you can dive. Good job!

jtpup0 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Cool visuals, the three-air-bubbles-warning-to-drown noise caught me off guard xD, Sweet game

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice little game, nice graphics and overall feel! :)

gmaker says ...
Jun 2, 2014 @ 6:20pm

dart is sucks...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]