Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aeronautical

by GarethIW - Jam Entry

Aeronautical (LOOK AT US AND OUR WORD PLAY!)

By Gareth Williams (@garethiw) and Paul Yendley (@gredgie)

Chasing a dreaded group of cosmic horrors through time and space, you find yourself battling through air and sea to take down as many of their kind as you can!

If you encounter a problem, please leave a bug report with as much info as possible, and check back for a fix! We will rate the games of everyone that leaves a message!

Windows:
Should run on XP SP3+. Requires .NET 4. Might possibly need OpenAL installed if it fails to run. I've included the OpenAL redist installer.

Linux:
This has been tested on Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon), you may need to install libSDL-mixer (sudo apt install libsdl-mixer1.2). Requires mono. If no joy, run from a terminal (mono Aeronautical.exe) and copy/paste the output into a comment.

Mac:
Tested working on Mavericks. The Pgup/Pgdn scaling keys cause the game to exit for some reason.


To play:
Use WASD/Arrows to boost
Use X/Space to shoot
(alternatively, try a 360 pad)

PageUp/PageDown sets the window size/scaling

There is a "boss" on Wave 6 (and repeated on certain waves thereafter), but we didn't get time to implement attack phases for it so it's kinda lame :]

Tools used:
C#/Monogame
Tiled
ASEPRITE
Photoshop
Audition
Sound effects from Freesound

Enjoy!

*** We've released a post-jam version with bug fixes, enhancements and music - see the link up there with the jam builds! ***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#32Fun(Jam)3.89
#71Overall(Jam)3.75
#177Graphics(Jam)3.88
#268Theme(Jam)3.37
#276Mood(Jam)3.25
#373Audio(Jam)3.07
#434Innovation(Jam)2.86
#562Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

Crashed when I open the Windows version. Video looks awesome though!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

I've just added a stack dump messagebox to catch crashes. If it crashes for you, let me know what the first line of that says and I'll get fixing!

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

Will you marry me?

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

fantastic, the gamefeel is absolutely perfect and the sounds/graphics/overall mood is incredible.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Cool game, very nice concept :D

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

It starts a little slow, but gets better and better. Lots of variation in the enemies and a nice difficulty curve. Great job!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Amazing graphics and a good take on the theme.

Thought it could have used more enemies though, and it would have really benefited from having some music. But overall, good job!

Bit of a shame about the 450MB framework I had to install to get it running that I'll probably never use again!

ocmu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Cool game, great work

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54am

Not bad at all, in fact, lots of fun with a xbox pad, awesome game ;)

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

Impressive! It's got me playing for quite a while.
Awesome graphics and sound effects, perfect gameplay with great controls and an awesome upgrade system!
Some music would've been perfect, so I encourage you to add it and release somewhere! Good job!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Looks and plays fantastically. Could have used more enemies and maybe some background music though.

Well done, definitely an idea that could be interesting if expanded upon.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The above/below water thing is great graphically. While the absence of music gave a certain atmosphere, I think something minimalist would have also fit well. I don't think I noticed if the handling changed when submerged, but it's probably because I'm not very good at this type of game. :v

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Could've been more exciting to be honest :) Other than that pretty cool :p

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very fun, the parallax adds a great visual effect. I was thinking, "what happens if I go underwater? Do I die? OOOHHH the theme!" Maybe add more features and it could become a great exploration game.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is really cool! The enemy design is good, the level progression is nice, and the sound effects give a really satisfying feedback when you're playing. Honestly, I have nothing bad to say... just that maybe a backing audio track that crossfades when you're in the air vs. underwater would be cool? It'd also be nice if the two regions were somewhat differentiated mechanically, though obviously of course this is just a 72-hour game jam.

Anyway, nice shooter, nice UI! Thanks for the experience.

MidCry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

16400 points in first try ... Awesome :D

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:55pm

The controls feel pretty good, and there a re some nice effects all over which makes the game pleasant to play. Good job

May 2, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Really love the game, a lot of fun to play. The parallax effect is totally awesome! I also liked the physics of the ship, very deep indeed. Cool transition between the sea and the surface. You could add enemies which need to be defeated by shooting above and below sea level.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really fun game! I just wish the enemies weren't so spread out. Maybe tightening up the levels would make the game a bit more exciting. Great graphics though and I love the spin down sound of the ship's guns.

Arakade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Crashed on Windows 7 x64 extracted into /tmp/LudumDare29/. Was proper LD zip. "Problem signature" sent via e-mail. Happy to review properly

May 4, 2014 @ 10:33am

The game is pretty fun! Though the map is rather big IMO. Great Game anyway! :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Crashed on open, but I ran the openAL installer and it worked fine after that, I scored 12600! This game's graphics are phenomenal, the parallax and particle effects are just gorgeous. The gameplay is really fun also, the only thing I'd say could've been done better is maybe having lots of a weaker type of enemy in the first stage or two. I loved the variations of enemies later on, and the upgraded weapons!

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:55am

Oh my god, this was amazing. The parallax scroll was absolutely awesome, the pixel art was beautiful, all the tweening effects were just great. It just looks and feels so good to play, you really nailed the "feel" of the game. The ability to go beneath the surface and see a whole other world as well differentiates this from other such games and really ties in the theme.

Nice one, I look forward to your future entries.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Super fun game!!! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I picked this one because my wife liked the screenshots. I'm glad I listened to her. I love the old school graphics but what appeal to me the most are the slick slick controls. The inertia is perfectly balanced; it's not easy to maneuver but it is never unfair. The piloting sensation is great.
Power ups work well to : they come at the right pace and really make you feel more powerful.
I guess you wanted to do something with the towers but didn't have time.
I hope you'll want to keep working on it. The best action entry for me so far. Good job.
note : the game crashed but I didn't see any window pop up after that.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Amazing visuals. Underwater combat was a nice twist, but overall combat could be more satisfying.

May 6, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I'm getting some Defender vibes, which is good because I loved that game. Loving that parallax, nice game!

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:26am

I LOVED the graphics, a ton. Very fun! I really like how there's differents waves too. Great job!

Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:56am

Very good game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]