Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Island

by Andrew Adams - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I did not get in all the features I would have liked, but I'm still very happy with the results. I will be pursuing this game further after the compo. I'd like to get the draw calls down and maybe come up with a similar mobile version. I have included the source code (Unity project). Please enjoy my game and I'm open to recommendations on improvement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#116Innovation3.82
#139Graphics3.91
#212Theme3.66
#308Overall3.44
#517Fun3.06
#606Humor2.37
#704Audio2.48
#822Mood2.69

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Pretty cool! The "press Q and E" instructions were off the bottom of my screen the first time I played, all I could do was click blocks and make them go away! Once I figured it out I had fun.

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Nice, after I played for a bit I was messing with the menu and was able to get all the cubes on the menu to disappear.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

Awesome job! Love the concept, and great presentation too. Stirling work.

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Love the idea, just wish the controls were a little tighter. Try setting velocities directly rather than using that super gradual addforce.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

I like the fail messages :)

It took a minute to understand, but the concept is good and fun. My only two complaints would be that the controls feel a little bit slippery and enemies don't die when they walk on lava.

I think the isometric camera angle works really good in this game.

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

I loved your style, but I had a hard time understanding which blocks I could remove. As best as I can tell, it's the blocks that are rotated to be at the top of the screen. If you could make the game screen a little smaller too - I missed some of the instructions because the Unity Window was larger than my browser window.

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Fits the theme really well, love the innovation and the style, the only downside is the lag on the controls. Really nice work.

ruerob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Good job, the only two things I could complain are the the screen resolution and the slippery controlls. But I think I could get used to that.

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

fun game, however, the momentum to move and while moving left me feeling a little bit helpless.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Thanks everyone. I'll address the issues immediately.

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

I loved it.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

I had a problem playing the web version. The textmeshes are not displaying properly and the browser slows down. Sorry but I couldn't get it running on chrome.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really liked the simple graphical style.
It seems like it would have been fun if not for the incredibly slippery controls.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

This really impressed me.
Both gameplay wise and when it comes to pixels!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

I really like the concept and the visuals. The movement feels really off though. Anyways: That's a great game you've made here!

Glint Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

I find the controls slightly unresponsive, I think the friction on the player is too high. Which is frustrating because it is difficult to avoid the bombs. It would be more fun if the player could move quicker from a standstill.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice art stile, but the control is a bit imprecise.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Very cool concept and execution.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Great idea. Would really love to play this with tighter controls. Keep at it :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Really really cool game. I wish the controls were a bit smoother but I just learned myself that it's easier said than done. :D Love the aesthetics. Beautiful design!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

##BUG FIX UPDATE ##################
Fixed
- resolution issues with the web / build versions being too large. The game now runs in 640 squared (not 1024 squared)
- instructions should now be visible in all builds
- removed latency issues with player controls and tightened player movement.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Well this is marvellous. Love the 3d-setup and the mechanics, and all the different types of block that come up :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Really nice and interesting idea! goes for some immersive gameplay! also allways love that low res 3d style!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Love the 3D projection style and animation. Nice work!

increpare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

liked the look of this

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

Great presentation, controls are a little stiff, but otherwise great concept!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Pretty cool. Controls were a bit tough to work with. Is progress tracked by number of coins collected? Maybe it should track depth?

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

Very cool art style and blocks variety! Although not a lot of things to do. Try making levels finite and set some sort of goal or challenge or achievements.
There is some strange delay in movement. I think it's due to the fact that you compare keyboard axis input to 1 instead of zero.
Good work after all!

Flux says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

Not sure what I'm doing but the instructions at the beginning really threw me off. The controls felt a bit sluggish as well. I enjoyed the aesthetics a lot, they were simple, although with the exception to lava, didn't really play into the game.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

Had not really to do with the theme. But I guess you tried.

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really cool concept well executed and looks great too! Well done!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Looks so fresh and clean! And I love the gameplay!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Controls are quite unresponsive and overall the game is lacking content. It looks great though.

Suyo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Loved the style and gameplay, had me replaying for a while! Only problem I had was enemies being pushed around by sand blocks right below them, and killing me while I expected they'd stay in their location for a bit.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Pretty good!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

[Pyrofoux]

I found the global style of the game (cubes, art, gameplay) very lovely. I have the feeling that this could be something really great.

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very nice minimalistic art style. The game is pretty hard, but I had fun playing it.

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Nice graphics, a really cool idea, and I like the way in which the controls were presented. The controls themselves felt a bit finicky (had to press space a few times before the game started, movement didn't always happen) but I liked this game a lot.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

excelent art. I really enjoy playing.

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Really cool idea and a lot of fun to play, but the movement could definitely use work. I ended up accidentally scooting into lava way too many times. This could be a really fun, multiple quick sessions kinda game.

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

A really cool game! :D Took me a few minutes to get used to the controls, but as soon as I'd gotten those figured out, I really enjoyed it :) The fail messages are brilliant too xD

Detocroix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Controls were a bit floaty and rotation didn't feel very useful or essential. Very nice entry overall, really liked the graphics and it was fun to play :)

Slader16 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Kind of like Starseed Pilgrim, I like it!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:33am

Inspiring concept, man!
It working pretty slow for me. And sometimes glitchy. But if you polish this game, it will be cool!

_Rilem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:43am

Cool game with a great graphical style. It was pretty hard at first but I kept getting better. But oh how I wanted a jump button. xD A bit lacking on the audio but that's completely understandable. :)

GamerTaters says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:59am

Really cool game. Loved the Bomberman vibe I got from playing it. A little frustrating when the tall blocks pop up out of the ground, obscuring your movements in behind them. Other than that small issue, I had fun messing around with this one. Nice look and presentation too. Great idea for the menu system. Solid work.

TheGrieve says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Beautifully presented, simple to pick up, and fun to play, but a little fidgety in movement. Would love to see it expanded upon.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:02pm

That is a very cool concept, I liked it! The controls were a bit "Sticky", which made it difficult to play, but if you can solve that, this would be a great game. Also some calming music would go nicely with this game.

Thanks for the game!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Really nice design and game mechanic, love the visual style. Just didn't totally understand how to play it.

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

interesting mechanics. . . but the delay in the input is bad

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:08am

I like the concept! Love the graphics, looks professional.

May 2, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Love the concept and the art but not the execution. Controls are frustrating and the game lacks rythm. A bit of polishing and you'll have a great fun game!

Venturelli says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:52am

Incredibly cool core gameplay idea you have there, you should definitely develop it further. Very stiff controls and the worst sound ever does not hinder what is an excellent entry, congratulations :)

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nice game, but I was not sure what is the end game goal if there is one.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Looks really nice, not entirely sure what the goal is.

If you put down bombs as fast as possible, you can consistently dig yourself into a hole.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Movement is bit weird, and that sound when you rotate the cube was very irritating :) Otherwise it's nice to have 3d-bomberman style game!

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:44am

Pretty rad game! Nice concept, and I had fun playing. The controls felt a bit stiff, and it took me a while to figure out how to start playing the game. Everytime I pressed "Space", nothing would happen. I soon figured it was because I was selecting the wrong block, but I wasn't really sure how I knew. Otherwise, I think it's lovely and looks great!

Catman says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Cool idea, nice novel tak on the usual mining gameplay!! Good job!

zeh says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

WASD movement is strange. Felt a bit clunky (too smoothed out?)

Regardless: what a beautiful, beautiful game. I'm impressed. Brilliant idea, and execution. This has promise. Well done!

minibutmany says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This is really awesome, 5 star mood. The movement was a little bit glitchy, but other than that everything was perfect.

May 10, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Interesting idea and very very well presented. I would certainly keep working on it and see where it goes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]