Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thrillah!

by WitchLake - Jam Entry

That game is all about the groove hiding underneath the surface!

Help Jichael Mackson to collect all the deathcoins and face the funky zombies of apocalypse!

Thanks to Swan and Joel who make all the illustration. I'm so sad that we couldn't finish the level design and put all the fancy props Swan did, as well as all the creepy sounds me made with my microphone!

BTW I hope you all enjoy this game!

All illustration and music was made by us!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Humor(Jam)3.60
#182Graphics(Jam)3.86
#203Audio(Jam)3.43
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#461Fun(Jam)2.82
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#700Theme(Jam)2.21
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Quirky game :D Sometimes I had troubles with the dance battles registering my arrows and I never got a score at the end, but I enjoyed walking around collecting coins!

WitchLake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I also noticed it... how sad.... with a few more hours of programming and level design that game could be a freaking hit, don't you think?

wespaugh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Good time! The art and effects were top-notch. I noticed some issues with z-ordering of coins and had a lot of trouble getting arrows to register. I've played DDR for years, so maybe I'm making the wrong assumptions about how to play that section.

Good idea, but I'm not totally sure I see how it fits the theme.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Interesting concept and great looks, but seems a bit buggy. The input was not registered every time, and once in the dance-off I didn't get any arrows. Other than that, it's an interesting start, keep working on it. :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Cool graphics. The levels could use some work.

starfeesh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I really like the art. It took me a couple tries to figure out how to win a dance off and had a couple issues with registering keys but it's a fun (and funny) little game :)

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I want battle the zombies :(

calrk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Haha was trying to avoid the zombies, thinking that they would insta-kill me. Was not expecting to dance off with them.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Such great visuals, loved the dancing and the little box Jichael Mackson, very cute. Such a polished game.

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Great idea, but dance battle bugs screw up a big part of a game.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Funny concept, you guys should build this out more!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Like the use graphics and the audio is decent. A bit too slow and not much of a game really.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice job, I think the same that other players: Very polished and with some time more, this game would be ten times better. About the arrows in the minigame of dancing, the right arrow(D) doesn't work to register.

WitchLake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Well guys! Thanks for all of your comments!! It goes directly to my heart! I know the game is really buggy and it kills me because I was freaking tired last night and couldn't see my hands anymore and wasn't able to type any more lines of codes... sorry about that! <3

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:43am

Funny and nice graphic

baboum says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Really nice! Couldn't battle any zombie though

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]