Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Youdunnit

by NightShadow0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reverse whodunnit where you play as the murderer, with a twist: you've been cursed into becoming a monster, but you don't know what kind of monster. To get away you'll need to learn what you are and place the blame on one of the other guests, all while keeping the curse in check.

"Beneath the surface" here refers to both the monster lurking inside you and the facade you need to put up to escape. I also used the secret bonus theme, study the Tome of Curses closely if you want to find it.

I managed to finish pretty much everything i set out to do, except the room backgrounds which were an unrealistic goal to begin with.

Thanks for playing!

*ActionScript 3 + Starling in FlashDevelop
*Artwork in Photoshop (i used a lot of references to make the silhouettes; not sure what the compo stance on that is, since in a way it's basing yourself off existing images, but they are my creations and i spent plenty of time on them)
*Music in SunVox
*Name database from http://www.outpost9.com/files/WordLists.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#260Innovation3.50
#269Mood3.36
#398Overall3.33
#417Theme3.42
#457Audio2.91
#503Humor2.50
#691Fun2.87
#852Graphics2.69

Comments

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I don't know why but this game reminded me of the old Tex Murphy games, which is a very good thing :D

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Very nice job, A very well put together plot and an enjoyable experience :)

Aske says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Fun stuff :)

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Good overall and pretty well made game. The theme is respected, the music is cool, graphics are good. The only problem is that it's too "short". I mean that you should set a system of achievments to make the story longer (if you got a proof, it's listed in a kind of book) then, if you have all the proofs and hypotesis necessary to inculp somebody, then you can go see the officer to tell him.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Good fun and an interesting twist on the usual whodunits. Love how everyone's names change between rounds so you have to start your detective work all over again!

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I think I want to come back to this game later... I really enjoy these types of puzzles, and you've done it on two levels. You have to figure out what you are so you can last long enough to figure out who is exhibiting traits of another monster that you can frame them as. I still haven't won yet, but this is definitely a game I'd have to write things out to figure out. Awesome work. I only wish the music was a little more ambient/eerie than it is.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

So mysterious! :) Not usually a huge fan of so text heavy games but this was nicely written. :) Solid job!

Potartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34pm

The premise is very good, and there's a nice level of strategy involved. I like how the thought of becoming a monster is ever present. Overall,I enjoyed it.

mutuware says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Clever idea.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Great mood, loved the silhouette graphics.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

neat idea, the creature descriptions are a little hard to read but otherwise pretty damn good :)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:36pm

The text in the book is a bit hard to read, but otherwise I found this game really enjoyable. You have to examine everyone while at the same time examining yourself, which is a pretty clever twist on this sort of mystery game. The constant feeling of dread is great too.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:34am

Very fun once I got the hang of it.

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Pretty fun game, Althought i think my lack of knowledge of mythical creatures kind of hindered my ability to play

May 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Oh my that game is awesome :D (even if i'm not fond of narrative games usually) It has got replayability, the story is great, good job !

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:57pm

This is really clever and fun. I'm not a big fan of these types of games, but it got me playing for a bit. :)

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Took me four tries but I did manage to blame the murder on someone else! Interesting twist to the whodunnit formula. Not a big fan of the humor though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Well written.

May 14, 2014 @ 5:36am

Great mood. I enjoyed it!

Hempuli says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The game's controlling system feels very archaic and thus makes the mission the player is on feel very overwhelming; I think I'll play again later. I really wish you had had time to visualize the areas more :) a very ambitious and interesting concept.

May 15, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This was a great riddle game, I enjoyed figuring out what I was. Figuring out what had killed the victim was quite hard though, but that didn't necessarily hurt the game.

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Great mood, fun game :) I found it pretty hard to work out what I was meant to be doing or remember everyone's names/comments (wasn't a whole heap to distinguish them) but it's a great concept and very well written.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:13am

This is fantastic! A little rough as far as graphics and controls go, but the gameplay, randomization, and storytelling are amazing :) I didn't manage to pin the murder on anyone, but I'm definitely going back to it to try again!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 2:38am

Thanks for playing and voting, everyone!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]