Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Below Earth

by klianc09 - Jam Entry

You are a miner/explorer/pyrotechnist/bomb throwing maniac who is exploring an underground cave and exploring/slaughtering the lifeforms it's inhabitating.

----- Controls -----

Arrowkeys to move
A/S/X/Y/Z to blow shit up

Gamepad support made it 1 MB larger... so yeah, it has gamepad support!

------ Update News ------

Post-Como Version Updated:
-Mainly balancing updates decreasing the difficulty to make it more playable for people that didn't spent 72 hours making it.
-You can now actually Pause the game
-Prettier tilemap rendering

Original Version Updates:
-Fixed bug that crashed the game when you finished the last level
-Changed Java JRE target to 1.7
-Added a logger writing to a file, for easier error reporting next time.


-----Behind the scenes-----

Although this is a jam entry, you can view the source code on bitbucket if you are interested.

Created using IntelliJ IDEA and LibGDX
Sounds created with bfxr
Pixelart created with aseprite

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#157Fun(Jam)3.38
#252Overall(Jam)3.39
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#299Innovation(Jam)3.17
#308Humor(Jam)2.74
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#440Graphics(Jam)3.21
#509Audio(Jam)2.68

Comments

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

When I tried to run the game I got an error saying a Java exception had occured.

admung says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

I am getting the same error as mclewis.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

I too am getting the java exception error. P.s. update your description :)

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

You have to download Java 8 to run the game:
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre8-downloads-2133155.html

The game was fun, and I thought the graphics and particle effects were nice. I made it to level 19.

I had a few gripes, though:
- The player movement felt really sluggish, especially combined with the bomb throwing mechanic -- I felt like there was barely enough room to maneuver, much less to get the run-up required to lob a bomb at enemies.
- I felt like the spitting mole things should only take one hit to kill. They're hard enough to dodge as it is.
- When you restart the level, you start with the amount of health you had when you got to that level. That kind of sucks when you only have 1 health left and the level is nearly impossible to beat without taking damage.

Overall, I liked it! Good work. :)

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Thanks for reporting the errors, as TheLastBanana already pointed out, it was compiled using Java 8, but since I don't really use any Java 8 features I changed it to Java 7.

@TheLastBanana: I'm glad you like it. And I totally agree with you, tweaking the numbers is really hard during ludum dare when you can't find a playtester in the middle of the night.

The Post-Compo Version has been updated addressing all of your issues in some way and generally making the game easier.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

P.S.: thanks petey123567 for reminding me ;)

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Classic but fun and well executed. Gamepad support is really a plus. Good job!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Very good game! Player controls are nice and the idea is clever. Felt fun to play around in. Nice job.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:52pm

The game played nicely, but I died too many times and could not get past level 11. I am that bad T_T
Anyway, it was good, and I liked the enemies (damn sharks. I thought I was safe on the land...). Great job!

Cezel_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Had a great time playing it, got a bit hard towards the later levels, but still a fun game!

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I really like how clean and smooth the game is but I suppose you didn't have much time to test. The second level with enemies is impossible to beat if you start with 1hp (after taking damage in the previous level). Overall an awesome game!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Couldn't run on OSX

CoderMusgrove says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Really fun, but can get really hard at times. :)

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Doesn't run on OSX

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:10pm

This is a great game, one of my favorite so far. I would definitely play an expanded version of this. My only gripe is that when you die, your health should restart- restarting with 1 health point gets old pretty fast.

phi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It's good fun, but it seems like the easiest way to get past the enemies is to avoid them, because attacking them is quite difficult (at least for me...). The levels are very nice.

ArthurMaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Wow this game is so good!!!!!! 9.5/10 i dont like the fact that you can spawn near the enemies but the best game ive played right now!!!!!

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nice controls, although it's pretty tricky when you get to a new level and are attacked before you have a chance to move!

lightsoda says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Throwing bombs further when moving is a nice touch, dodging all the enemies while throwing bombs is quite difficult, I got hammered by shots, which would've been alright if I could take more of a beating.

klianc09 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Thank you all for your feedback.

It seems like I always make my games too hard, which is kind of a pity. The "spawning besides enemies" issue is my fault, for not paying attention when generating some levels.
And I don't know why I thought restarting with the same health when dying was a good idea. I fixed it in the post-compo version.

@GreatBigJerk: I assumed it would run on OSX because libGDX supports it, but I have no Mac myself so it could take a while until I manage to fix it.

I'm hoping to get a HTML5 build of it done though.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:19am

Love the 8-bit style! The monsters were really creative too, fun

admung says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:57pm

It's not very pretty, but the enemy types are very fun, and seeing the interaction between them and things is great!
For instance, the tentacles can slap bombs, even ones held by the little blue guys, and the little blue guys can get killed by the moles(?).
I do think the moles are not a very good enemy type, since there's no way to defend against their shots and they aren't the easiest to hit with bombs, nor the easiest to avoid with the floaty movement. That room filled with many moles is especially hell, since it'll drop your health down, and it'll stay that way for the rest of the game (unless you can get every medkit along the way without getting hurt).

shadow64 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:33am

I got the java error people mention, but just running it a second time made it work for some reason.

The game is fun and I like the difference between using bombs vs using TNT. I have to agree that the moles and the sharks were a little annoying as enemies, but I liked that there were a variety of enemy types.

Personally, I prefer designed levels over random levels. That's just a preference, but I think it would've led to more interesting interactions with the enemy types. Since it was random, I think it their role less interesting.

Overall I liked the game, but especially since it was a jam entry, I'm wondering why no soundtrack?

Thanks for sharing this and congrats. And thank you again for playing and commenting on my game! :)

klianc09 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Thanks again for commenting, people.

@admung: Yes, this interactions between enemies weren't intended but I think that's what makes it most fun.

@shadow64: At first I planned to only generate levels, but then I gave in and made a quick level reader that parses a text file for the tutorial level and used it in other levels afterwards too. In hindsight I also realized that somehow the hand-made levels were more fun than the (poorly) generated ones.
As with the music part: I really think that music is important. It makes or brakes a game. And I'm always too scared to add music that doesn't fit or is annoying. And currently I'm not confident enough with audio tools to make some music myself.

foolmoron says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Very nice controls... using acceleration to aim the bombs feels really good.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]