Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Some Guy and the Blind Date Adventure

by Jonapulse - Jam Entry

You guide some guy through a blind date, calming his heart through soothing rhythms to prevent him from having a panic attack. Whether he panics or not will dramatically affect the story. Sixteen possible endings!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Humor(Jam)3.82
#276Innovation(Jam)3.23
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#514Graphics(Jam)3.00
#517Mood(Jam)2.81
#587Overall(Jam)2.82
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

Something different.
Fun to play, and different take!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

Interesting. The text is sometimes hard to read though, and it would have be neat if there was a heart beating audio track speeding up. Love the graphics!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32am

It seems to make light of people with panic disorders. The interface is also very clunky and the text is often white against a light background. The outcomes just seem completely random.

I'm not trying to be harsh, but it's definitely lacking some polish that would make it a lot more fun to play, and when you have such a serious subject matter you have to be more careful about how you deal with it.

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Interesting take on the dating sim genre.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54am

Awesome game. Made me laugh my ass off!

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58am

I thought the dialog was hilarious.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58am

This is one funky entry. Crazy.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is a pretty cool idea--a rhythm game with story attached! I felt it was a bit easy though, and the zaniness of the story made it difficult for the mood to come together.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:59am

Oats needs to take deep breaths and relax. EVERYONE is nervous on a blind date, especially when the entire time continuum is at stake.

JPLynk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:33am

Interesting humor, I feel like the gameplay would have benefited a lot from some sort of audio with the rhythm-based gameplay.

ceosol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:37am

I'm a chair!

ruerob says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:11am

I thank you for that game. It was really nice to play that one. Some audio would have been great, but it makes fun that way, too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]