Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

AliPan Space Miner

by Hayawi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a drone sent to the asteroid belt to mine what minerals you can. Try not to get destroyed will you...

Controls
WASD to move
Arrow Keys to fire lazer

The point is to last the longest and get the highest score

If double clicking the game fails, try running the run.bat file

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#767Audio2.33
#855Theme2.89
#1049Mood2.38
#1079Overall2.59
#1123Innovation2.21
#1148Graphics2.15
#1155Fun2.16
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

I like your style, as a small sidenote, couldnt refuel once.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Thanks, I was going for a kind of retro thing. Did you try the number keys 5-8

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46am

Nice concept, however the controls were a bit off. Mining sideways was problematic, it took me five or six times longer to mine a block sideways than it did mining straight down...

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nice spaceship control. The mining reminds me of Terraria.

I had a hard time mining sideways, it seemed like it wouldn't always work and when it did it was pretty slow.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

I feel like this was inspired by motherload.
Good game

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

I can't mine at all? I just die when i press down and head for the rocks?

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Some people are having the instadeath bug, I'm working on finding it at the moment.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Instadeath... NO!

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Can't run it on Mac.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/me/LudumDare/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:249)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Couldn't run on mac :(

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08am

i couldnt mine too easily, but good game

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

Can't run it on Mac.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
...
at com.me.LudumDare.Main.main(Main.java:15)

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Updated, should work on Unix based operating systems properly now, if doesn't open on double click, just run the provided shell script.

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:34am

Love the graphics

Zerkruemler says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nice music and idea. Also a cool upgrade system. But the controls feel clumsy. Sometimes it is possible to mine left/right, sometimes it does not work. It is also not so clear what needs to be collected.
Funny that it is possible to see the 'sun' and stars in the tunnels.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]