Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Damn Sharks

by notajetski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- There is no sound! ---

Please hum along with your favorite sea shanty.

Left click to shoot! Right click to move!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Theme3.53
#324Humor2.82
#382Fun3.23
#511Graphics3.23
#830Overall2.90
#836Mood2.67
#843Innovation2.67
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

YAR HAR FIDDLEY DEEEEE
(This is my second favourite game so. I love the flippy sub and shooting missiles.) I had a proper chuff YAR HAR FIDDLEY DE BEING A PIRATE IS OUR RIGHT TO BE DO WHAT YOU WANT COS A PIRATE IS FREE, YOU AREEE A PIIRRRAAATEEE. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBH4g_ua5es That's my favourite sea chanty.

Anyway, on to the actual game: solid game play (My high score is 6.) it's fun, and I really enjoyed singing my own sea shanties, that is a feature most modern AAA games lack. (Wow even AC4 Black Flag didn't have it. Lame.)

"AC4 with guns" - 420/360 IGN

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

Good game. The mushiness of the controls make your sub actually feel like a big, underwater, missile firin' submarine instead of just a little sprite. Also solidarity points because the final boss in my game is also a shark.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

Interesting. Reminded me of 90's windows games :) Good nostalgia.

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

It's a nice touch how the explosion is area-effect and also propels everything away (including your sub!).

ahmedmohi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

nice game , mainly i like the momentum when shark go up nicely done

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

Take that you damn sharks! Nice work!

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

This was pretty fun, actually. Basic controls and the drifting of the submarine works really well. Also, I quite fancied the bubble parallaxing :D

ovenchips says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:12am

Yay! Someone else who did a sub game! Your sub is very satisfying to control with nice particle trail. Missile are maybe a bit tricky to fire against the fast moving sharks but if you wait until the last moment to shoot, it's easier. Nicely done - I hope you continue with this project post-LD!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]