Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heart of the Cards

by roaet - Jam Entry

Not just a matching game! For the Ludum Dare 29 jam! A first entry for most in the team.

The theme for LD29 was “Beneath the Surface”. We went with the idea that under the surface of a matching game there is a story generator!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#235Innovation(Jam)3.31
#458Humor(Jam)2.35
#489Audio(Jam)2.74
#547Graphics(Jam)2.90
#597Overall(Jam)2.80
#629Fun(Jam)2.40
#639Mood(Jam)2.50
#650Theme(Jam)2.48
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Haha. It's a good idea and I like the game a lot, but I have to ask you this: What does scrambling the cards add to your game vs what does it remove?

Think about it - if the board was the same every time (by maybe with more cards on it), then the player could experiment with the story generator, with only three or so cards moved around for every new go.

Where as now, there doesn't need to be a story generator, you could just make a story that fits the couple of images no matter their order because you can't really compare whether or not it would have changed.

But then, if you did the aforementioned thing, it would beg the question of why this is a memory game at all. I don't know. I like it a lot as is, I don't mean to get you down at all, but there is something ... something that you could tweak slightly that would make the whole thing brilliant. I don't know what though. D:

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice idea. I wonder how many story combinations there are total. Would like to see this concept further developed.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31am

I enjoyed this quite a bit. Very cool idea - it was fun to see what the game said. I think you could emphasize the memory aspect a bit more - maybe the number of turns influences whether the story has a good or bad ending? I only had two complaints: the connection to the theme is pretty weak and sometimes the game did not recognize my clicks. Overall, great game.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:22am

A good concept! Definitely ripe for further development.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice mechanics / storytelling combo and great music. Some steps further and you might have a really good game

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Really inventive use of theme, and well-executed too. I did find that the story moved a bit slowly, though, because the game mechanic eventually became a touch too monotonous. But I too would like to see the theme developed further.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Good idea!, great concept! Please, you need to do it longer.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The story generator seems like a cool idea, however it was hard to play with due to the mechanics of a matching game. Still, pretty fun!

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:40am

Boy nukes world...Rainbow Dash loves boy?

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:54am

Iteresting idea. The story part definitely keeps me hooked to the game, althrough I am not exactly sure how is it generated. Does is use only a part of the pictures? I would like to know how I actually contribute to the story.

thenmal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The story generator is neat, but it'd be more fun if I could tell how it was generating them. Is it what cards I have in the first few slots or is it when certain cards appear in pairs, or is it just based all the cards that appeared at which point what did matching them do? Maybe a glow effect on the individual cards that caused the story so that the player can see how to go about getting a new story each time. A counter of how many of the possible stories you have unlocked out of the total would be cool too, to give the player a kind of goal to reach.

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Not really sure how the theme applies here. Aside from simple card matching, I'm not seeing much else? A bit too much disconnect from my actions to the consequences for me.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:43pm

a nice and different take on the theme. although i couldnt figure out if the stories are connected in some way

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]