Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Totems & Gods

by vladimirdlc - Jam Entry

As a member of an expedition to foreing worlds, our MC find itself trapped falling in a misterious cave, it seems like the ruins of an ancient civilization, a worshipping sanctuary, or even something else... nothing is certain but, that the more you explore, the more of its secrets this cave unveils.

Music by the amazing Franklin Webber https://soundcloud.com/franklin-webber/sets/space Track: Strange-Transmission

Note 1: There are three endings in the game, Loop, Faith, Wisdom, and if you get stuck, just keep on jumping or restart (is not that long, sorry for the bugs and dead ends).
Note 2: To avoid missing plot, collect Faith and Wisdom in ORDER before endings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#225Mood(Jam)3.38
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#357Graphics(Jam)3.43
#388Theme(Jam)3.13
#406Humor(Jam)2.47
#457Fun(Jam)2.83
#458Overall(Jam)3.07
#630Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This concept seemed like it could be pretty great! It was spooky and I like the painterly graphics. However, with the player's jump being so limited, and the sprite getting caught so often on the edge of ledges, it was a bit too hard. I easily got the 2nd log twice (and one of the endings), but it was really frustrating to try to jump those gaps over and over again (and I never got far enough to understand what the stat increases and decreases did).

I'd really love to play again if some of the level design were spruced up, though. It's a neat concept!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Great job.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Nice graphic design, funny voice sounds :) The music really helps setting the mood, and it fits nice with the art style. Character-environment collision is a bit off though. Aside from that, great entry!

jotaSe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Excellent

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:26am

i like the artwork

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:26am

Nice graphics!

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really nice work, the graphics were fantastic, and the music was amazing. The sound effects though, were creepy as heck. Beautiful entry!

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:33am

I like the graphic style and the plot.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Incredibly awkward movement is the only thing holding this platforming adventure back. Other than that, it's very impressive. The graphical style looks good and is very fitting, the music and sfx are strangely haunting and the story elements are well presented.

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:25am

Does the music add layers as the player gets more records? It felt kind of like that was the case. Really enjoyed the music. Also liked the art. Controls were floaty though, led to some frustrating moments. All in all nice work.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:28pm

@pjchardt It doesn´t, but depending on player progression an speed, it may give that effect.
Glad you enjoyed the game :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]