Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Snails Fun Day Out

by SenorDiablo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey thanks for playing.
I wanted to make a game for all ages so hopefully enjoy.
Let me know what you think in the comments:)
Instructions in game.

Cheers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#30Humor3.94
#78Audio3.70
#96Graphics4.03
#99Mood3.75
#240Overall3.53
#408Fun3.19
#419Innovation3.26
#1080Theme2.41

Comments

Farfin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

I feel like I learned a lot about something

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I really like the animation in this. Like what this game is trying to do :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

hands down best game of the compo. Can this please be obligatory for all kids in school? Such education.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

This game has a meaning! This type of games is best IMO. Whole game is soooo consistent! I totally fell into that world for a 2 minutes!

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

LOVED the animation! The snail was adorable and I learned a lot from your game.

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Design and audio were great and made me laugh

Catmoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

As a fan of snails, woodlice, millipedes and all other little insects and creatures. Other than that your game needs more millipedes I really enjoyed it, it's super cute!

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Good educational stuff here. Kudos!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This was great. Mr Snails is so nice. Love the music also.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I think you (s)nailed it in audio/humor/mood. The graphic palette also adds to the mood. I love it. If there were a WTF/OMDOG prize you should win it! Congrats!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Hey thank you everyone:) Damn I really should have put millipedes in! That'l definately be in the post mortem

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

One of the stupidest but also one of the BEST games I've tried so far!

Seriously, let's make this game win Humor and Mood (Yes, I'm setting you up as competition)

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Oh man Gaeel this is on! Already told one of my friends to play yours:)

javierecf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

This is funny and informative.. i really enjoyed it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

That's great. perfect ratio between dumb and edgy. Very educational and not too cool for school. While playing your game i've been tranported in an alternate 80's where people invented home computers before television. PLUS I've learnt something (not really but i could have).

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I really like the childish style and that if feels very "Game Boy"!

oxysoft says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:15am

this felt so stupid and so wrong to play, I love it. the fact you can lick and the animation is especially creepy makes it all the better

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:50am

This was a very sweet game and lovingly animated and musicked. I licked everything and I liked everything and I learned some Facts.

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:53am

LOVED the animation and graphics. Music was awesome too, just a great mood overall :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Very cute! Absolutely loved the animation, felt good to be hit on by every bug too. Nice meaning, although I wish there were more game to it, but you do only get 48 hours.

SenorDiablo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Hey thanks for all the awesome feedback guys.
I agree with you Noah and the last room was going to be a rap battle style rythme game but it turnd out I suck at writing raps so I changed it :)

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:20pm

That was the MOST fun day out I've ever had, especially as a snail. I too would like to one day become a rap superstar, and shall take all that I've learned from this game into my future. This has changed my life.

Waterman7 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:48pm

More games need a lick-button :)
I'll have to admit, I didn't really care about the mental illness-facts.
But the presentation was really great overall, good job.

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:18pm

This is a neat game.

Zccc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Ahaha so much cuteness! Great :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]