Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Dig Dug

by jotson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dig for your life but watch out for magma pockets and subterranean beasties. The world is 1000 tiles deep. The difficulty increases the deeper you go (more monsters and magma).

HTML5, made with Phaser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#190Theme3.69
#278Overall3.47
#297Fun3.36
#347Graphics3.49
#570Mood2.97
#653Humor2.30
#917Innovation2.58
#1038Audio1.42

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Solid game!

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35am

Good work and nice polish! Needs some sweet sounds :)

anissen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Really neat little game. I especially like the magma flowing.
Reminds me of Supaplex.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

This game feels nice. Pleasurable animation, pleasurable controls.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

The main character (the truck)is lovely! Simple but good design!

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I'm also reminded of Supaplex.

Simple style, yet good looking.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This is a really fun game! Looks good!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

> Infinite.
> 1000 tiles.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Very solid game and nice graphics. Expand on the gameplay a bit and this could be really fun!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Interesting, could use more of a penalty for going next to lava/monsters though.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Nice game and well polished.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Pretty good. You should keep adding to it.

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice graphics! Simple yet awesome.

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Wow, amazing game, i love dig dug, i love the colors, i love everything !

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Love the look.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Very tight controls and solid gameplay. Neat bouncy feel to the graphics and UI. Overall great work. I know you're supposed to avoid the magma but it's too much fun to drown the monsters in molten rock.

You commented about the animation of my game character not bending his knees. Those are just left/right keyframes I would defintely have his knee bending between those two frames. Just to be clear!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Fun fonts and tasteful graphics.

P.s. thanks for the game mechanics website, helped make my game (then I went and added some bugs on top).

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I like game style. And running from lava and raptors :)

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Plays very nicely. Had a bit of an issue where pressing the down arrow scrolled the page, so the game kept disappearing out of sight

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

really fun, looks good and simplistic :)

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Very smooth game! Nice mechanics, simple and addictive gameplay :) Where are the sounds? :(

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

This is super crisp... definitely a fresh spin on the "digging" ideas I'm seeing (my own game included :))

Love the art style, love the way the difficulty/failure works. Lava flows interestingly to make it fun.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Very pleasing to dig!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Simple game, cool style.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

259! Really cute game with solid mechanics. It would be nice to have a little more variety in obstacles.

NicoM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:20am

Love the simple design style and animation, gorgeous and quite addicting, great job!:) (ps. those text animations are great):)

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Really good fun to play. I like that you immediately get what to do, then there's the nice touches like the monsters and lava chasing after you.

Tardowyn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:04am

Nice game!

StrykerKKD says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I like this kind of games which has simple art style and has simple, but good gameplay.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Nice! Reminds me that flash game where you have to dig into the hell.. I've expected more games like this when I was reading the theme :-)

psychonull says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:17am

Solid entry. Sometimes I had no way to move on starting on depht ~90. Anyways I had fun with this one.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Really cool game - I like the steady increase of the difficulty level the deeper you are.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]