Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea Joyride

by Exergy - Jam Entry

OBS!!! --- REQUIRES XNA 4.0 FRAMEWORK TO BE INSTALLED --- OBS!!!
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914


Hi!

This is our entry for the Ludum Dare 29 JAM!
It's an "endless runner" diving game where the goal is to avoid fish and catch air tanks to become the best deep sea diver in the universe!

How deep can you go? Leave your score in the comments ;)

All made from scratch by
* Niklas Olsson
* Jonathan Kax
* Magnus Eberhardsson

Hope you enjoy it! Please leave a comment!


Controls:
Arrow Keys - Control diver
ESC - Pause
Q - Exit Game
F - Fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#109Humor(Jam)3.40
#131Audio(Jam)3.63
#154Mood(Jam)3.57
#198Theme(Jam)3.50
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#286Graphics(Jam)3.59
#338Innovation(Jam)3.08
#461Fun(Jam)2.82

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26am

Sorry man, can't launch it

Exergy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Forgot to mention that XNA 4.0 Framework has to be installed. See link in description.

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Pretty interesting idea for a free runner under water. My problem was that it was way too easy and then it just suddenly got nearly impossible. The collision on the fishes was a bit too large, making it unforgiving to try to maneuver around them. Graphics and audio were very good, but nothing spectacular.

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I thought XNA were dead hehe.

I liked the movement mechanics, people commonly screwed it. The game is pretty easy for a long time, making it slow, than you simply cannot go further.

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Great job! Got to 118 meters.

holgk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50am

I can't launch it, too. I don't know if it's a Win8 thing or not.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09pm

@holgk Did you install XNA 4.0 Framework?

Shivur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Relaxing and beautiful.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Took a while to get this loaded but when I did it was a surprisingly relaxing experience. Definitely very interesting to dive (dohoho) into this game, cheers for putting it out there!

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

107m! Nice and relaxing until you get past the ~70m mark! Also, good to see some people still flying the XNA flag ;)

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:01pm

It was far too slow in the beginning, I almost just closed it and moved on out of boredom, but I stuck it out. After about 120m it goes from far too easy to literally impossible to complete each wave without taking some damage, and the air tanks don't restore as much as you lose, making it just a matter of attrition. If it's random, you really need to make sure there is a way through, top to bottom delta-pattern fish isn't really a game...

Marza says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

"Whaddup, fish?" xD

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Good music and graphics but dull gameplay.

ChuiGum says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:34am

Innovative idea for and endless runner type game, good job

May 3, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Excellent presentation in this, and sharp controls. It's really slow and a bit dull in the beginning though. It'd be better if it started off at a much higher difficulty I think.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Awesome graphics and music. But can't catch all rules how-to-play, what-to-avoid, what-to-collect (green fishes only ?) and why-my-presure-became-zero-when-i'm-diving-to-bottom. :)

Some kind of tutorial missed.

CiderPunk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:30am

210m! ...is that a beer can i hear?

blahoink says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:27am

the game progresses maybe a bit too slowly but a great game otherwise. phenomenal sounds/music

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:53am

Good music and sound effects, the graphics are nice and the animations are non visually intrusive while evading enemies, 103m was my record.

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:10am

Your sfx were really good. I also like the simplicity of the graphics. I think the game starts off a little slow as far as the more complex patterns of fish go, so tightening up the pacing could be a good improvement.

praporomsk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:15am

Good graphics, I liked how it's getting dark the deeper you going. We had similar idea for this LD :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]