Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nether Mind

by v26 - Jam Entry

NOTE ABOUT RUNNING THE GAME:
- Run "Nether Mind.exe" or "Nether Mind Fullscreen.exe". If you do not have java, you will be prompted to install it.
- You can manually run {"<JRE path>/java.exe" -jar TopDownGame.jar} if all else fails (or you are on linux/OS/X)

DESCRIPTION:
A game about diving into people's minds to see their inner self

Fullscreen is suggested!

GAME HINTS:
Listen carefully to the all the NPCs and their 'inner thoughts'
If you are really stuck see the hints folder

TECHNICAL DETAILS:
Java 32-bit (x86) should be used?
Made in Java with LWJGL and some Slick2D libraries. Most graphics rendering done in OpenGL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Audio(Jam)3.64
#165Humor(Jam)3.15
#182Graphics(Jam)3.86
#308Mood(Jam)3.18
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#394Overall(Jam)3.17
#401Theme(Jam)3.10
#469Fun(Jam)2.81
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

This is an awesome idea! I really like the way the game looks as well, I wish I could play it!

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I played this in windowed mode and as far as I'm aware the game didn't work properly. I got lots of '???' in chats and I couldn't jump into other people. On the other hand, great graphics and awesome music :D.

P.S. I played the game out of the zip, so if that is what caused the issue ignore my complaints about the bugs

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Great mood, and good idea (:

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Awesome! I wish I hadn't gotten stuck, even with the hints. MOAR HINTS!

schnüt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Great idea of diving into the minds. :-)
I just got stuck after giving the dog food, is there an end that I missed? ^^

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Since people seem to be stuck, I added more hints in the new link (the Windows folder comes with less hints than the new link so those first)

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Got as far as the dojo with a cryptic letter clue and couldn't figure it out any further. Interesting concept.

Penguincat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

The art and music are great, and I really like the premise behind the thought-reading, it kind of reminds me of the idea from Watch Dogs of hacking into peoples' stuff to uncover their secrets, except you're "hacking" right into their minds! I'd really love to see a game take this idea much further. However I got stuck after I explored and talked to everyone, maybe I missed something or there's an obscure puzzle, but the hints weren't helpful at all. I think a game with this concept would have been better suited by a focus on interacting with interesting characters rather than puzzles.

v26 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57am

Hey everyone if you liked the concept, I found another game with the same thought reading concept...except more plot based. I think this should have been more plot based but the plot was quite rushed in the end (there basically is none >.>). Anyway try out this submission

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=32076

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This was a lot of fun :D I love anime :3, i couldn't go far because i didnt know what to do. Excelent work :D, i love the art, the music, the game concept and the story.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23pm

There's a good idea in there, but...The whole thing is kind of unclear. I didn't really know what was going on or what motivated it all. The text needs some editing, I think, and there should be more of a chance for the story develop. Am I a barrel girl? What is a barrel girl? I solved the one puzzle, which was kind of interesting once I figured it out, although I had to squint at all the tiny Japanese food icons and make a guess...I have a digit code, but what do I do with it? Oh well. I wandered around, but the speed is slow and the world is so large that it got tedious. I feel like there's potential here, but...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Brilliant art part!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]