Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Upper Crust

by dylanwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a geomancer exploring beneath the surface of the earth. To move forward in your journey, you will need to bribe the giants who guard your path.

Made with: Unity, 2D Toolkit, GIMP, Audacity, BFXR, Tiled map editor, UTiled (https://bitbucket.org/vinull/utiled/), and a base code library (https://bitbucket.org/dylanwolf/ludumdareresources/).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#103Theme3.87
#225Humor3.05
#228Audio3.31
#229Innovation3.55
#530Mood3.00
#608Graphics3.10
#614Overall3.13
#629Fun2.94

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Damn those greedy giants, pretty innovative!

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Excellent use of theme, and I'm a sucker for a game with unconventional combat.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

Incidentally, the giant bit was a reference to the original Final Fantasy.

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

We had similar ideas! Your game is pretty fun and has some good ideas. I particular like using the environment as your primary weapon.

I feel like the mana system is an arbitrary limitation and I would suggest removing it entirely. All it really does is cause the player to stand around waiting, since every action they do requires mana.

Solid game overall, well done!

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Very nice, but a bit too short :)

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Neat innovative concept!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I like the combat mechanics and the two levels system.

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Cool concept. How to get rubies was bit of a mystery but I did figure it out :) Nice entry & nice puzzle/memory related gameplay.

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Eh, quite cool. Very innovative, wish there was more to it-- more enemies, more way to use your power. Solid entry!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Originally I'd hoped to add one more enemy type and have some more interesting levels, but I got started on level design way too late in the weekend.

dylanwolf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:58am

I've made a minor bug fix: I had texture compression set incorrectly and had decreased the display resolution to compensate for some of the problems. It's set correctly now, so the updated version looks a bit better.

vinull says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice take on the theme. If you wanted to spend more time you could add some interaction between "worlds" such as having to move something in one to change the other.

Catmoo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I really enjoyed your game, the way to play it was really clever, and the combat was nice as you were using the environment and having to time your attacks if you had enough mana left. Really clever and enjoyable to play.

recursor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I really like the world-swapping mechanic.

noom says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:34am

Very neat game, loved the concept of switching above and below ground, loved the music, loved your art style. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]