Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scratch

by - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Short spooky adventure... More info when I'm awake again...

The next day
============

Okay, here we go :

"Scratch" is a short Horror / Interactive Fiction game about a person that finds something is moving underneath her/his skin.
See it as a collection of creepy (very) short stories build into one game, should be easy to complete within 10 minutes or ... LESS...! ;)

Later that day
==============

Added distributions for Win, Mac and Linux... So there you go!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#139Mood3.65
#235Humor3.03
#269Theme3.60
#312Audio3.15
#551Graphics3.17
#625Overall3.12
#706Innovation2.86
#856Fun2.67

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

Didnt know if I wanted to watch! Quite a funny little game.

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I think I'll just leave my arm alone now...

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Neat! I liked the way the image switched, but I couldn't manage to progress without dying.

I liked the WASD-esque control in this context. A little dark though

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Are those pictures of your arms/hands and your apartment? :p

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

@Gwinnel : All the stuff I found around the house, and on a trip to the netherlands... Also, the arm is mine, of course. One ending has a picture of the rest of me, too... ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

@evilDan : There are "good" endings, just that some are random... :)

mogwai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Spooky. Hit the TBC ending.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

That felt creepy. I didn't really understand how to know what to do and what not, but I just tried all the possibilites.
After some bad endings I found someting, but I didn't feel like a good ending.
I enjoyed that the photos are of such a bad quality, I didn't want to see them in more detail anyway.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

At first I thought I would be seeing disturbing pictures of someone cutting his arm. I ended up in another dimension though :P

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

It's a strange story which horrified me... but a good entry. THX. It seems to me we want just discover your appartment. In fact the storyline isn't really important :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:42am

Very interesting use of the theme and a great entry! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41am

great job! creeped me out, and portraying it as physical photos felt very unique

JNyknn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Interesting concept and wonderful atmosphere. Great job!

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I was not able to reach any "good" ending. I tried a lot of different stories but I kept dying in a way or another. :(

Nice horror game. I really liked the use of real life photos.

ceosol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

I like choose your own adventure time things. I was sad when I hit all of the endings :(

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:41pm

"well if it moves... I don't think I should scratch it"
Game over
"Oh... ok"

I hit 4 or 5 endings, and I don't know if any of these could be considered a "good" ending. Are there any?

May 2, 2014 @ 4:31pm

@PapyGaragos : That's a though question, sometimes you live, but that's not always a good thing, I guess... One ending just shows a picture of me, but I think that doesn't count as "good" either. It's all in the mind of the player, I'd say. ;)

Custard Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Cool game. I really liked the keyboard control as opposed to having to click the various options.

Bashosha says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:30am

Nice work ;), lots of ppl used the idea of smth beneath the skin just as I did!!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:13am

@Bashosha: Yeah, that was kinda obvious, wasn't it! ;) I'll check out your game later, looks a bit similar to mine, but I guess it plays differently... :)

goerp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:55am

Haha, how do I score this on fun? Well it's a kind of fun.
Nice take on the theme and a great mood. I was curious what was beneath, but good horror also leaves stuff to the imagination.

I think it also was a nice way to present this short adventure. Just enough graphics to set the mood.

The only thing I would think you could change is the pixel font. I think it doesn't fit the game.

littleball says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Great little game, if a little freaky!

Ragzouken says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:22am

moody, i like it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]