Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

What's Beneath?

by Lerc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I knew this was going to be tough going by doing everything on paper, but I was wanting to try something like this for a while.

It's pretty much just an exploring game. There are places for Items to be collected, but sadly, not enough time for those items.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#20Graphics4.45
#339Theme3.51
#347Mood3.23
#348Overall3.40
#391Innovation3.30
#709Fun2.85
#799Humor2.11
#1068Audio1.20

Comments

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43am

Such cool graphics!

Don't know how you hooked the drawings up to the collision detection but it worked perfectly for me.

Cool particle effects as well.

Not sure if there was an objective in the game, but I found the sleeping dragon and dodged the licking tongues - which were both fun to do.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

The paper-style works pretty well! It's a bit confusing that you can fly out of the level (flying upwards at the start) and end up on the wrong side of walls. It would maybe also be nice to be able to bump off the walls a couple times before dying, or maybe have it based on how fast you hit the wall.

Nice job, though!

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

"Ran out of time" written on the level, I lol'd! Really liked the handdrawn graphics and simple joy of exploring! Great entry!

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

Very enjoyable game, controls are spot on, and the artstyle is great.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

I'm glad you tried drawing a paper game :D
The drawings really come to life when you can explore them freely, and I think you're onto something with this style.
I found it hard, however, to not crash into the check-points but with a little practice it was possible. Also, I wish there were just a few more levels to explore :)
Very nice entry overall!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

A nice clear design ++

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26am

Lovely art style! Wish there was some audio, and that it wasn't so easy to die :)

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

The handrawn style is so cool!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02am

Hand drawn graphics are AMAZING! I really love it, well done!

maloki says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

Lovely hand-drawn art! :D

abuzreq says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

The drawing is beautiful although the player character was a bit alien to the rest. It would have been justified to die when colliding if I was looking for something. But, as for exploration only, my curiosity to see the drawing is what drove me to repeat it over and over

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17am

It is a very beautiful game. Hand drawn graphics are amazing (+5).

There were a couple of places where there we discontinuities (thicker pencil followed by thinner on an otherwise continuous straight line). You might find it easier if you draw only elements of the level (boulders, rock plates, stalagmites, etc..) and then assemble them together. But then again maybe I might be missing the point ;)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

Great graphics, cool exploration game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

Awesome graphics. Very cool idea. You should continue. I couldn't figure out why I couldn't turn the ship though.

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

Awesome game! The graphics are nice and the main idea is simple, but still fun! :D

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

A little cleaning up on the graphics and this would look amazing.

Great game however.

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38am

The graphit art style is adorable. So cool. Controls work well, nice exploring the cave.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

Nice graphics, reminds me of http://www.ambrosiasw.com/games/sketchfighter/. You got me inspired for a future LD ;-)
Also LOL @ the running out of time solution.

I initially flew outside btw, it would have been a bit more immersive if you had done something to prevent that (e.g. endless horizon).

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Really cool graphical style! :D
And an amazing ending xD
A bit of music would have been nice, but I'm guessing you ran out of time, right? ;)

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Cool graphics!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I dig handdrawn games, did one on a previous LD myself.
This one looks really nice!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Very cool graphics, I really love hand-drawn art in games! You really should compleat it! :D

May 2, 2014 @ 2:31am

I was totally enjoying this, until a huge framerate drop killed the game. It was by the savepoint north of the fire nozzle.

Loved the art, too!

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:37am

Really cool idea. Reminds me of drawings I used to do as a kid.

Belvar says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Really good looking, obviously. Hand drawn graphics is splendid idea.
It may be a bit difficult for a game based on exploration and discovery.

May 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

very nice stylized graphics!!!

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Aha awesome paper art. More draw and especially paper animation would have been incredible.
Game is already quite cool and also challenging.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]