Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Sky

by GmacktheGummy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had fun with the beginning and ends of making this, but for my first Ludum Dare game, I am sorely disappointed in myself. Regardless, this is what I got together in 48 hours by myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Fun4.00
#176Overall3.63
#297Graphics3.60
#1240Theme1.80
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

I love the graphics and gameplay! You did an excellent job of this!

For future reference, one way to disable the in-between pixel banding that jags all over the screen when moving is to always round the camera / sprites position to the closest whole pixel value. For example, in Unity, I used sprites at 8 px / "meter". To prevent the banding, I always round the displayed position of everything using: "position.x = Math.round(position * 8f) / 8f;".

But PLEASE host it somewhere that isn't going to download a virus on my computer. I'll even host it for you on my website if you want!

lucienpro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Very well done, the music really makes it enjoyable and entertaining, well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

Sweeet! Really liked it a lot!

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it. As for the pixel banding, thanks, I've had that problem for quite a while.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very neat game, had that kind of Gameboy Zelda feel to it. Nice graphics and solid game-play. My only complaints would be the enemy movement patterns. The skeletons just moving up and down seemed a bit redundant and the bosses projectiles were really hard to dodge.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Not a bad little game, the movement felt a little stiff at times but that's really no big deal. The audio while somewhat repetitive was still nice and gave the game a good feeling. The graphics are enjoyable. Not bad.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Cool game. My only complaint was that I ended the game with -110 health.

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

nice. But at the end i was -25 health ???

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I enjoyed playing this game quite a lot, but the enemy behavior felt a little too shallow for it to be much of a threat, except for the fact that the movement was imprecise enough that I kept crashing into them anyway. The boss ends up being easy if you just spam arrows at it. It stays in the center too much, unlike the miniboss. The graphics and music were nice.

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Quite good for a 48h compo ! But i killed the boss with -45 life points XD. I also hope to see more enemy paterns

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Holy crap, the nostalgia is unparalleled! I had such a burst of joy from playing this, thanks! The music was excellent, the visual were so retro but lively and colorful in a tastefull way! I can only complain about the movement for the character ebing a bit buggy and the bosses perhaps a tad too hard. Oh!, and I got to negative health and kept playing, pretty sure your death mechanism isn't working. Other than that, really nice job!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Really nice game! I read that there was sound!? I played it using wine on linux but there was no audio. Nevertheless I enjoyed the game! Especially once I had the sword and of course when the game told me the "you are a cool person!" :D
Good job!

GmacktheGummy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Thanks for the good feedback, everyone. I thought I had fixed the negative life, and while I technically can't change things like boss difficulty and enemy AI, I will be releasing a new version, fixing these problems (and slowing down the boss firing rate).

Penguincat says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Major nostalgia points! Loved the Zelda-y graphics and gameplay, and the music was awesome - I'd definitely buy it off bandcamp if you ever put it up. It didn't fit the theme of this LD much, but I still really enjoyed it.

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Reminded me of Zelda, in a good way.
Really liked the music, but the graphical glitch was kinda distracting though. Also the skeletons were a bit too easy and the bosses were a bit too difficult to avoid taking damage.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]