Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dead men tell no tales

by aaronjbaptiste - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yaaaarrrrgggghhhh!

In Dead men tell no tales you create a band of yellow liver'd Pirates and travel across the treacherous black seas. Something sinister lies beneath, use all your cunning in this tactical survival game.

========================

Instructions:

Click the buttons to choose one of the following class of Pirate:

Cutlass: Close combat, high health, medium damage.
Rifle: Good range, low health, high damage
Grenade: V. Good range, low health, area damage
Healer: Low range, low health, heals injured Pirates

========================

Tools Used:

Unity (free)
Adobe Flash CS6 for drawing game assets
Audio: http://www.bfxr.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#269Fun3.39
#295Humor2.88
#451Graphics3.32
#453Overall3.28
#566Mood2.98
#706Innovation2.86
#728Audio2.43
#1103Theme2.36

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

It look real good, and was surprisingly fun!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Its actually pretty fun! I love the sprites and their animations.
Great participation, congrats!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Very fun, though I found it to be very tough. I'd love to see this fleshed out more. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

@SmilingCat Thanks! Yeah it needs balancing, it's brutal to begin with, but after you get past wave 7 or so, it's too easy. Hoping to continue dev on it to see how far I can take it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Solid Entry ! Congrats :)

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Fun and challenging.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Fun game :) It would be nice to see some health bars above the characters but nice job in < 48 hours!

idovingx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

surprisingly fun, though it needs some balancing, for instance, the best strategy i found was to just load up on cutlasses. the other units didn't seem worth it. also, it'd be nice to see health and damage.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very fun!
I got to wave 12 with an army of rifle and cutlass, but after that the lag became too much.
Great work!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Does it have an ending? I left it running until wave 21 (by that time I had enough pirates to instantly destroy any zombie that came aboard) and it looked like it would just keep going. It's a great idea though & nicely implemented. Varying the enemy types might help keep it challenging for longer.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

@vilya No ending unfortunately, I actually implemented 4 different enemy types: Zombie Pirate (as seen), Flying Parrot thingies, Poisonous creatures and a Leviathan. However I never got round to doing all the graphics.

After wave 8/9 you pretty much have unlimited money and one shot everything with ranged attacks. I plan to continue development to balance things out, add real levels on a world map and other purchasable upgrades.

MisterDerek2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

Very fun! Liked the graphics too.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice game! The soliders are cute, the way enemies pop out is also quite innovative. Though more controls can be given to the players like where to reinforce.

Tuska says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Fun game but I would love to have a control over what enemies my units are attacking.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Fun game. Health meters would be a solid addition to this. Not knowing what health units have left and not being able to control them kind of left me feeling detached from the action. That said, I think there's a lot of potential if you continue to work on it!

Thanks for making it!

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Cor, really enjoyed this. Took me a while to figure out just to ADD MORE CUTLASS at the beginning. Fun!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

What makes or break this kind of game is what's going on on the screen, since the player is more or less waiting. You did a great job at that here with the cute pirates running around and the overall good art.

You might have something solid here if you decide to expand on it. Good job

Daveloper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice idea, well presented.I can't help but feel that the number of enemies increases too quickly. Good effort though :)

Kaoin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Surprisingly really fun! However it starts to lag a lot once you place too many pirates.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Huge performance issues. Rifle man OP :) I like tower defense and I never seen any alike, so big hug for innovation!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Enjoyed this, I'm a fan of games with indirect controls so this was up my street. A more developed version of this would work really well on iPad, hope you stick with it!

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Played it for a good 20 minutes. Surprisingly fun, well done!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Nice game and cool graphics, though a little unbalanced. Healthbars would also be helpful! Love to see a post compo version!

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Surprisingly challenging. It get´s easy after stockpiling a certain number of pirates. Maybe it needs a little balancing, but it's a really nice contribution. Thank you :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Really great graphics style and funny animations. In my opinion the player has not enough control. It tried it often and had the feeling that it is more or less random if my weak pirates are attacked or not. I was not able to get very far.

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Fun game, nice looking character art! It might need some balancing though, I'm at wave 27, table full of pirates, score 22320, with 77400 coins and the game updates once every 10 seconds.

Lrnk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Cool graphics and a refreshing change of genre. Nice!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Awesome game, could use some balancing as said before.
Maybe add some boss mobs after every 5 waves or so?

Catman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:56am

Cool name, funny presentation, funny game. Nice job on the animated sabers too!

TeamEagle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31am

nice game. http://cl.ly/image/393u0R2R3r02

Anny says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Fun game! I really liked the graphics, it was tough too

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Hmmm, couldn't make it past wave 6. Kinda cool though, like the pirates!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:28am

Very hard game. Nice graphics and gameplay.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:39am

I liked it a lot, but there is a point where you can break the balance so you have so many guys on screen that you can't possibly lose and it gets really laggy. Maybe after you have 5 of any given unit they merge and form a super unit of that type, and then the enemy starts attacking with super units or something, that way the game could remain playable in later waves. I was on wave 17 and basically it was too laggy to play.

Don't get me wrong though, I really liked it. Looks nice, plays nice. Good job. :)

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:47am

Cute style. You could do a lot of cool things with this idea...

ZYXer says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Simple, but well polished game!

It would be nice to have a bit more influence on the situation. For example if one could place the pirates on deck. Another idea I had: earn interest on the money you have at the end of a wave.

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:22pm

really fun, love these types of games, and you made a great one, like the cute little pirate sprites, great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]