Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Safety Blanket

by SimonLarsen - Jam Entry

### RULES ###

It's bed time, the monsters are out to get you, and your blanket is just too small to cover your body!

Cover your exposed limbs to fend off the approaching tentacles.

The tentacles will only go for your feet, hands and head.

If the tentacles reach you it's game over!
- SURVIVE TILL 7 AM

### CONTROLS ###

* Move blanket by dragging the mouse
* Change windows size by pressing F1-F6 on the title screen

### MADE BY ###

* Simon Larsen (Programming, sound)
* Lukas Hansen (Artwork)

http://tangramgames.dk/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.62
Innovation(Jam)4.60
Coolness79%
#5Overall(Jam)4.37
#12Audio(Jam)4.29
#27Fun(Jam)3.93
#32Graphics(Jam)4.47
#47Humor(Jam)3.78
#89Theme(Jam)3.76

Comments

Maniulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great game! Story of my life (without the tentacles, though).

rorycooke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

this is fantastic

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Fantastic game! Good job!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Masterpiece!!!

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Incredible game, unique idea and graphism. I loved the glitched effect on the game over, the overall mood, the color choices.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Great execution and take on the theme. Well done.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

this was really great. I set the source aside so I can have a close look at how that blanket works. Overall amazing job.

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really inmersive, great sound, and visuals (except the face of the man, ugh). Even the blanket moves pretty well.

I was nervous all the time, nicely done. Now let me sleep quietly without monsters, please :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

SO AWESOME! Art was good and it was amazingly unique.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great graphics and original gameplay! Why didn't he just buy a bigger blanket? ;)

Volute says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Wow, scary! The graphics and the mood are just perfect.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Really awesome! Super creepy, I love it! Nice cloth physics thing you got going on there.

Linkigi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I enjoyed this game a lot. It's an interesting take on the theme and it is very unsettling to play. Looks and sounds great and runs perfectly. It's also about something that everyone can relate to. You've captured that vulnerable feeling well.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32am

The head at the top of the screen scares me the most. This game is fantastic. The shader was worth every second you spent on it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

Really great and innovative use of the theme!

Interesting mechanics. They are really unique, cool use of physics and pose a nice challenge!

The atmosphere is really awesome, a little Lovecraft inspired horror. It fits the theme perfectly!

All in all, great job. Hope to see you guys again next time!

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

Simple but really fun! Graphics and sound go creepily well together. I urge you to publish this on touch devices! :D

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

That's a mighty pretty blanket. Really good work with the effects, fun game too!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04am

The shader effects are really great combined with your pixel art.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14pm

This is pure innovation.
Possibly my best LD29 find yet!
Good. Job. Mate.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:04pm

THIS IS PERFECT!, 10/10 XD I love this idea since thats what most children feel when they sleep with small blankets XD. There's nothing much I can say for you to improve this cus its already awesome XD XD.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:09pm

wow, this is really great!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I think that this is a mini-masterpiece. I have said.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42pm

A really great game. Well done!

_Rilem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29am

This game gave me nightmares. o.o
No really, the concept is pretty messed up. Made me totally uneasy. :D

The fact that it is a child totally helps set the mood. A primal instinct for you to protect your child from the monsters of the dark. The anxiety that this game evokes is quite a real feeling.

Great idea, great entry.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Cool concept. I really liked the "creepy" shader. Very new and fresh concept!

I think this would be great as a mobile game with multitouch :D

anissen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Really polished (and creepy) game! I kept losing before the tentacles reached me though that might be on purpose... Anyway, great execution and take on the theme :)

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Nice! I love the distortion effects. I love the theme. I love it.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Amazing game!! Keeps you alert, very good player engagement! I will come back to study the lovely graphics :)))

Top marks!

Druid says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:26pm

OMG :D Super mega cool :D

rezzish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:30pm

wonderful fantastic design!

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:49pm

This is cool

copain says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:05pm

very cool. good idea, good realisation, good sound. bravo.

May 3, 2014 @ 3:10pm

This actually made me feel very panicky. Well done!

Brilliant audio design supporting a really elegant mechanic (that of pulling the blanket around).

I actually move around in my sleep a lot like this. Though I've gotten over worrying about the tentacles. So far so good!

javierecf says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:42am

Great design, graphics are incredible well done, the audio fits really well and the gameplay is solid, one of the best entries i have found.

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:25am

Good night's sleep my ass, I had tears in my eyes goddamnit :P. Really pretty. And moody. And intense. It's solid. Really good job on this one.

I was thinking of going to bed since it's going to be morning soon, but maybe I'll wait until the first rays of the suns light the room up. Or at least gather some additional blankets.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]