Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Dome

by pansapiens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fly through the rings fast !

Goal: Complete three laps passing through the rings sequentially, while avoiding enemy fire.

Controls - mostly like an FPS:
Move: WASD + QE (do a barrel roll !)
Look: Mouse
Right mouse button or space bar = BOOST !
Fire: Left click or Ctrl

System requirements: Higher than I'd like. If the web version lags on your hardware in fullscreen mode, you can try running the downloadable version fullscreen at 640x480 - this is playable on a mid-2009 MacBook Pro / GeForce 9400M.

--
Tools: Unity Pro, Blender, GIMP, Caustic (Android), BSFXR, Terrain Composer.

--
Twitch stream of me modelling the dome (kept dropping so I quit trying to stream): http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/b/523202731

--
Post-submission bugs I found and know about:
UI on title screen doesn't re-adjust / overlaps when switching to fullscreen in webplayer.
Ship can die while floating around after 3 lap race has been finished.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#147Graphics3.90
#453Overall3.28
#457Audio2.91
#489Fun3.09
#619Mood2.92
#734Innovation2.82
#990Humor1.78
#1218Theme1.93

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42am

Hum - it's a good game which needed some efficiency, but it seems to me you MUST choose between a race game or a battle game. In fact these games are interesting but in this strange cocktail I have a doubt - it's so confusing. Thank you for this cool experience. Soon I will see the shaders which you have used ++

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58am

That's a lot of controls required to fly/fight :) would have preferred a more simple control scheme/solution. Also lags a lot on my Mac

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Yes if it's a Humor .Ok i will rate 3 stars.But Really what's about gameplay .Gameplay is not working with the design .Next time try to solve the connection between gameplay and design ,so they both looks beautiful .But it's fun for 48 hour game

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Wow, I am impressed, the graphics are awesome and have a very retro-early-nintendo64-feel to it. Really liked it!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Very nice, I got very impressed with the effect on the terrain.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Neat setup - Love the color-effects!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Very nice graphic effects. Good job.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice visual style and interesting game mechanic. Was confused about what I should be doing, and sometimes felt like I was 'unfairly ambushed/killed' Really cool!

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

The lofi graphics are bomb. This is pretty sick, I could totally see some multiplayer madness with this game.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Awesome job! It is awesome!

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

Loved the filter / gprahics style, was great. Also the gameplay was a lot of fun, I loved the combination of flying / racing / shooting and having WASD to fly while aiming with the mouse was great. My type of game! (made me think of starfox on the n64)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39am

Incredible!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

The graphics are probably the most impressive, with the colors as you get close to stuff, seeing enemies through the level geometry etc.

Controls were good, gameplay was alright though not very engaging.

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14am

The masterpiece superman 64's developers were trying to create.

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

This was really fun! I'm digging the art style a lot and the controls are very smooth. Good job!
I wish I could've compared my time with other players (maybe something like a leader-board).

Blokatt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very well done.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Having issues running this in Chrome, can't get out of the main screen.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice lighting effects! (but yes you should improve the gameplay ;)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52pm

You sure made a lot in 48 hours :-) When I missed a ring I got really confused though :P The graphics were great, and some decent sound effects!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Really interesting graphical effects! Especially the color aberrations of the ground i liked. Incredible for only 48 hours of work! I don't really see how this fits the theme though...

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Enjoyed playing your game, controls were pretty easy, loved the graininess and colorful textures when you got up close. Only problem I had was when racing large packs of enemies would be going the opposite direction... rationally I should move because there's to many but my instinct for top speed pushed me forward and ultimately to my death.

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:15am

Very impressed by the 3D, unfortunately I only got halfway through lap 3 a couple of times but never made it to the end. Battling the enemies in flight was kind of hard, maybe the mouse could be more sensitive for faster aiming. But that would mess up the flying I guess, hmmm. Anyway, I enjoyed the game but it needs some more balance

May 2, 2014 @ 4:58pm

This game looks crazy dude. Loved playing it. Will defnetly come back later again.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:30am

Interesting game. I enjoyed the visuals like the nice colour effect when you get close to the ground. Not sure how I feel about being able to collide with the rings though. Found it very frustrating when I would bounce off of the rings awkwardly after building up a lot of speed. Overall, cool game! I really liked the visual style.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:11am

Really nice game! Great music!

May 3, 2014 @ 3:05pm

fantastic graphics <3 Impressive!

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:13am

Neat visuals. Love the colors bleeding into the grayscale landscape.
Gameplay was kinda confusing at times, for example I didn't really get how the laps worked. How many rings count as one lap? And what if I skipped one of the sequence? Do I have to go back and get it, or can I just keep going?
Also, the shooting part felt out of place. I rarely used it as it distracted me from getting all the rings, and it didn't feel as polished as the racing.
Apart from that, I quite enjoyed it. Good work!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I like the idea. Nice, well polished graphics considering time constrain. Good job.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Intense action.

TobiasW says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:24pm

And interesting combination of genres, but it doesn't work too well for me - on my first try I got 1 1/2 laps by just racing, and on my second try I tried shooting, but got killed pretty quickly. The art and sound on the other hand are pretty good!

pansapiens says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:44am

Thanks everyone for checking out my entry - we mostly agree :) I posted a postmortem (general responses to comments at the bottom): http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/19/deep-dome-postmortem/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]