Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge (Ludum Dare 29 - Beneath the Surface)

by Andrei Müller - Jam Entry

Developed by:

Andrei Aguiar Muller (http://andreimuller.carbonmade.com/)
Main Programmer, Game Designer and Sound Designer
&
Denise Moraes Pinho (http://nisegames.blog.com)
Programmer, Game Designer, 2D Artist.


Game controls:

A and D keys / Left and Right arrow keys = move the character.
Spacebar = jump (you can do a double jump, just press the jump key once again while in midair).
Left Ctrl key / Left Mouse Button = shoot a bullet.


Game plot:

Your name is Ania, and you are a military scientist. Two years ago you were in a team exploration at the North Pole and, suddenly, your life has changed... You and your fellows found an alien base at the icy underground. But immediately after that discovery, your fellows, including your beloved one, were all killed... By the aliens.
Somehow, you managed to escape death, but nothing was left for you. All the people you loved and cared were gone... And now, two years later, beneath the icy surface, the only thing you think about is... REVENGE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#503Humor(Jam)2.24
#547Audio(Jam)2.55
#645Mood(Jam)2.48
#688Fun(Jam)2.21
#713Overall(Jam)2.39
#714Graphics(Jam)2.24
#748Theme(Jam)1.68
#760Innovation(Jam)1.72

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Good 2d shooter. Might want to re-adjust that camera, though. :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

fun little game, the alien deaths were gruesome haha good job :)

May 5, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice game. It got repetitive though. Might want to add some gimmick. :)

May 17, 2014 @ 2:08am

Thank you for all the feedback! =D

I have plans to continue working on this game. In fact, I already made some adjustments on my Unity project (especially on the camera and some balancing issues).

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:15am

It seemed like there were two many bad guys on the screen at one time, other than that, pretty cool!

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:40am

Good game, although you're immediately overwhelmed by aliens from the start! Interesting story.

Jezzamon says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:16am

This game could probably do with some more balance, and more content really. And an achieveable goal.

I personally wasn't a big fan of the drawing style too...

If you're planning on continuing this, you should try to design levels and place enemies in certain places rather than having them randomly appear.

phi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:50am

A game plot is useless if there is no goal. I would also have liked to have more control over the direction I'm shooting. The game needs some more work, but it's a good start.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:58am

@phi
Well, having a plot is better than not having a plot, right? =)

But I understand what you mean, phi. The real problem, naturally, was the limited time to make the game, haha.
That's why this version of the game doesn't have a clear goal (other than scoring points).

607 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:54am

Hm. The level is not that big, and to me it wasn't really fun to just shoot at the aliens that kept coming, refilling my health and then dying. Maybe that was also a thing because there was blood in it though, and I can't stand to kill things when there is blood in it. That's just my personal preference though. I did like the music.

May 17, 2014 @ 10:04am

@607
Thanks for the comment! I composed the music. ;)

To tell you the truth, the alien deaths were intended to be even more gruesome!

The heads of the aliens would fall off instead of simply disappear, and they would even had a random chance of exploding! (killing even more aliens in the process)

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice try and funny mood! But a bit difficult with all the aliens at the same time, maybe a progressive level would have been great :)

vilya says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice to see someone else making an action game like this! It was a nice touch that you could jump on the aliens to reach higher platforms, but I think it takes too many hits to kill each alien. It'd be nice to have a variable height jump too (short press for a small jump, long press for a high jump) or even a double jump. And maybe zoom the camera out a bit more, so you can fit more action on the screen. Overall I'd say it's not that polished yet, but it's a solid start & the core gameplay is fun.

Harsay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:55am

Dat camera.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Oh man, so many aliens! Music was quite nice, as well.

May 18, 2014 @ 1:41am

I just posted here a new version of the game (in the "Post-Jam" link above). I tried to rebalance the enemy spawn rate and fix some camera issues. It's probably not perfect yet, though, haha!

I also added more sound effects in the game! =D

@vilya
The game already has a double-jump, I know I forgot to put the instructions in-game, but in this page I wrote about it in the description. The variable height jump is a great idea, also! I'll try to implement it later. =)

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice game

foolmoron says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Surprisingly sharp and responsive gameplay. I like the attempt at a reactive camera, but it definitely needs some tweaking.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]