Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Archaeology

by GaTechGrad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NEW - Added post-compo entry which features run-time terrain modifications, so that holes are visible after excavation.

Welcome to Archaeology!
Here are the details of playing the game.
First select a surveyor to find good locations for treasure. If treasure is found nearby, the ground will be highlighted with a certain color:
White - no treasure near
Blue - little treasure
Green - moderate treasure
Yellow/Red - lots of treasure
Once you find a good location for treasure, assign an excavator to that area. If the excavator successfully digs up treasure, it will be shown in the world. Then assign an appraiser, who will determine the value of the treasure and add it to your total money.
Repeat until you've found all of the treasure, but you have only until 7pm before the game is over.

Resources
Surveyor (Tripod Icon) - Finds the best spots to dig
Excavator (Shovel Icon) - Digs for treasure
Appraiser (Magnifying Glass Icon) - Determines how much discovered treasure is worth

Controls
Left Mouse Click - Press buttons / Place objects
Right Mouse Drag - Move camera view
Mouse Wheel - Zoom In/Out

Tools
Unity (4.2.1f4), Garage Band '11 (6.0.5), Gimp (2.8.4), Bfxr (1.3.3), Audacity (2.0.3)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

The RTS controls here are pretty solid and the tutorial is a great idea. I like the concept, although it is possible to get stuck very early if you spend too much.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Nice game, looks good! But it's very hard to find all the treasure. It's hard to see where you've already searched. And how do you know if you've won, is it just score? I do like the fact that you explain through a voice track, that helps! The animations are nice too.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

nice concept, good tutorial, overall this was a pretty good game, well done :)

vinull says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:32am

The update really helps - nice take on the theme!

littleball says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Not a bad game, well done. I think I found a lot of the treasure early on, then spent all my money surveying.

Udell Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Clicking to continue didn't work for me on the webplayer. Google Chrome, Windows 8.1

recursor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:32pm

At first I thought you could only survey the rocky area for treasure, but then I got smart...and richer. Nice work.

paps says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:05pm

nice game. never found the red zone though

May 13, 2014 @ 4:00am

Neat mix of RTS and puzzle game. I played this one a couple times. might be better if you could cancel a guy before he finishes counting down and get some or all of your money back.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]