Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

How did Mario died ?

by leo_gri - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One of the most famous video game character have been found dead this morning in his house. Although it looks like a suicide, dig in, for beneath the surface, beneath appearances, might lie some things you didn't expect...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#149Humor3.29
#749Fun2.80
#925Innovation2.57
#1041Audio1.41
#1079Overall2.59
#1094Mood2.29
#1129Theme2.29
#1143Graphics2.17

Comments

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Not a python guy, can't figure out how to run this. Sorry.

robodylan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47am

I learned this lesson last year, python is an amazing language with great potential. But it's useless to try and distribute games with.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Hahah, laughed my pants off. Good job, didn't even know I had python installed.

Could've added one more indicator when going past end of the universe for more laughs and then invisible wall. Also didn't know that Super Meat Boy was to the left till my options ran out.

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Congrats! I like the pipe smoke effect. Cute game! It does need some proof reading. The text was a bit hard to read sometimes - e.g. grey text for evidence labels, Limbo boy's text was rendered behind people.

monaarc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Good game, too bad for the graphics and audio ! Your game deserve better :)

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Good job!

FGM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Funny. You should allow window size changes though. The window is too big for my screen.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Cool idea, but too short. It's well made, but the lack of sound and the lack of suspense is making me underestimating your game. Do better next time :D

LewisW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Short but sweet. Obviously it wasn't the best "game" in terms of mechanics but I found it genuinely entertaining. Dunno if the bad grammar was deliberate or not but it actually improved the humor.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I suggest using py2exe when you want to distribute this to people who might not have python installed!

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:43am

I am so confused, and that detective don't look beautiful at all... just saying :P

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:13am

Can you fix the screen resolution? My screen isn't big enough to display the entire window

May 2, 2014 @ 5:14am

Awesome idea! It was starting to get pretty good but crashed when I talked to Tim.

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:07am

This was a game. :)

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:40am

With the crummy graphics, simplistic gameplay and corny story, this entry has this "so bad it's good" feel to it!

leo_gri says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:31am

Thanks for the feedback ! I will allow window size changes very soon :)
@Coin Flip Games: Too bad ! Were you playing the windows executable ?

cardboard says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:23am

Haha, funny game! The graphics are delightful, and the odd grammar adds to the humor in my opinion. Nice story and ending as well.

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:09am

Love it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]