Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yay, more squares!

by lightsoda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note
------------------------
If you're on Windows I highly recommend the Windows build, HTML5 is probably way more sluggish.

Controls
------------------------
Move: WASD or Arrow Keys
Shoot: Left Mouse Button (or Space only if you lack a mouse!)

------------------------

Sorry for all the squares, I wanted to animate some characters but time's up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#27Fun4.00
#53Audio3.83
#157Overall3.67
#307Mood3.30
#474Graphics3.28
#536Humor2.46
#810Innovation2.71
#1073Theme2.43

Comments

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

The game is very laggy on my mediocre notebook, but the game is fun!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59am

even the graphics were kind of simple, they were clean and felt like they fit the game well. I somehow accidentally glitched out of the map at one point, but other than that, it was very fun. Great job! :)

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I like this graphics!

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

awesome music!

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Fun game. I cared for that orange square guy :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Really wanted to have a sprite on the characters and enemies, but the gameplay is very good.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Good quality dungeon shooter. Would have been nice to see some slightly more innovative weapons. Solid game though.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

That boss really surprised me. :D

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Really loved the music! Gameplay was too hard for me: maybe I'm missing something but you could only really shoot while taking damage in my experience. This would work great if you could shoot in a different direction from the one you're moving.

Great art outside the squares, but even they were fine :)

HTML5 version worked fine on Win7/Chrome

JokerDen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Very dynamic game. Like minimalistic art.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

Very smooth and fun gameplay. Would like to see earlier enemies' shots go slower, as it takes a bit to get the hang of moving into position, aiming and firing before getting shot. This could definitely be expanded into a really fun game.

Well done!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50am

I feel like it does not fit (much) the theme... sadly... But the gameplay is there, and the game is super fun, after all, it is a Shump, and shumps are amazing.

You did a great job, and you changed the game pacing introducing a different kind of enemy and a boss...

I loved it... Also, the graphics look amazing...

Well, hoping to see your next ludum dare entry.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20am

Loved it! It's fun, the music is great, and there are deft touches like the camera shake. Only issue was the bullets being instantly destroyed when you're next to a wall, but it's a minor really nitpick. Good job!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20am

Pretty fun game. Good work with the art style. Controls were a bit slippery for my taste.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Very intense and challenging. It's kind of hard to shoot and move effectively, so I just ended up running through the enemies. Great job!

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

to slow on my old imac, but the game look good. gfx are simple but I like them. You made the music ?

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

@nicolashognon, yup I made the music with FL Studio.

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Hey !
The game was very laggy for me (html5 for mac). Have you used Game Maker? I had issues with laggs to on my project but forcing the use of openGl on the html 5 export solved the lag one. You should try it :)

Nice backgrounds, and funny Boss :)

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20am

Great fun to play. Classic formula, well executed. It feels ominous when you see those cracks appear and .. oh crap run !

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

That's a fun game! It feels like a dungeon-crawler. Would be great to see it with some character artwork too, but the rest of the graphics were actually quite good I thought. The theme music was excellent!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Really action packed, works great on my desktop!

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice action game and even and end boss, but it was a little bit too easy.

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Really fun shooter. Although half of the graphics are only raw templates it didn't stop me from playing to the end. Also the controls don't seem to be very polished, as sometimes I couldn't aim properly but I believe it has a great potential and if you work on this (polish the controls, add more graphics and more levels) this can be turned into an awesome arcade shooter game. By the way I highly enjoyed the music!

guimonpa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Nice game! I really liked the music and graphics, the gameplay was simple but quite fun.

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Really fun game. Too bad the enemy blocks weere the same color as the player, but still a really fun entry.

muumeroinen says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Good game! No need for a characters, squares all the way! :)

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Really great game. The music was excellent and I think the squares give it a nice touch.

I was just about to complain that my keyboard can't process up, left and spacebar at the same time, when I saw you could also use the mouse. Playing with the mouse makes it a ton easier, because you can acutally aim somewhere else than where you are moving.

The boss was well done, except that you could stand outside of his range and just kill him offscreen without any trouble.

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hi. Played HTML5 version on IE11/Windows8, was great and fast. Shame no sound. Excellent game, interesting behaviour by NPCs.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:57am

Sounds are cool.
Graphics are impressive.
Liked that boss at the end lol

Great one!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Wohooo! That was fun, I really enjoyed this until the end! The controls and gameplay are both perfect.. It's bit easy and I don't know if it's actually complain :) Missing character sprites is the only but unfortunately pretty visible stain on this great entry. Good job! .... I didn't expected such a boss! :D

illugion says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Nice job man !! You did what i couldn't: a boss ! And it was really awesome when i got the key and a lot of enemies spawned behind me, it was cool to feel that i had power to defeat them but still be kinda afraid of that XD i wish the bullets were just a bit faster but overall it was great !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]