Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Huntress

by xhunterko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A mysterious and possibly dangerous creature is rumored to exist in these waters. You have been tasked with investigating these rumors. Probe the creature to determine it's threat level by running into it. You have NO WEAPONS. Good luck!

Controls:
Arrow keys to move.

Hint: Try swimming straight ahead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#949Theme2.72
#1008Humor1.74
#1033Audio1.46
#1187Mood1.86
#1222Innovation1.93
#1233Graphics1.77
#1242Overall2.11
#1254Fun1.61

Comments

xhunterko says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Of course, I'm an idiot and forgot to post the source. Source is here: http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/7b785e727551cc615fe30351d339666c

Can that be fixed I forget?

xhunterko says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:06pm

And of course back up web link in case newgrounds REALLY hates it: http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/94f471a52f524bd0adc4d8dd0ca5c081

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Quite fun! Loving those programmer art! ;)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

An interesting way to make a maze, but it gets a bit boring after a while. Could do with better graphics, or at least changing the color of the ground as it is too close to the color of the water and after playing for a while it strains your eyes.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Was the world supposed to be the monster? I played for a long time waiting for something to happen and something never did. It's a shame, the idea of chasing rather than running away from huge monsters is always a fun thing to make into a game.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

The monster is actually in 3 different places. Try going just straight ahead. Would've been nice to add different graphics but, time got away.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

After spending few minutes of mindlessly moving around the screens and not finding anything of interest, I got bored and closed it.

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05am

Clearly the ocean is huge. I was diving around for at least 3 minutes, but didn't come across anything but water and land. Some indication of where to go or something else to look at/do would've been nice.

I only read that the shortest way was to go straight ahead at the end, but didn't feel like going through the experience again.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

The graphics remind me of those old Atari games where you can't really tell what the sprites are supposed to be... Also, I swam over about a hundred screens and never found anything?

cageinabird says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

I couldn't find the creature, unfortunately. It needs a radar, and either make the area smaller or put more things (like hazards, minor enemies) in it.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

Cool idea. It deserve an HUD ;)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I like the idea of exploring a large area for ponderous creatures, and once I got the idea of the screenshake it added some neat atmosphere; I just wish there was more to find and look at while playing.

(Also, what antivirus program are you using?)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Whoops, comment is not same as rate!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06am

@Hempuli Glad you like it thanks for playing! I'm using Bitdefender as an antivirus. It's a shame it's blocked for some reason, it looks rather fun!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13pm

I searched and searched but couldn't really find anything making it a bit of a boring experience ;( Perhaps make the monster "cheat" and find the player more frequently or what ever he does, or adding other items or fish could make it interesting?

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:46pm

A nice idea but sadly there's not much to it yet. I presume that's mostly due to time constraints and missing engine knowledge though. But what I liked was the ending which is so in contrast to the monster you just probed :D

May 1, 2014 @ 8:06am

I really like the idea of exploring and particularly the idea of probing the creatures. I think this is a good start and a really interesting idea that could grow into something awesome and unique.

I know it's not there now but I can see there being a really cool art style to go with this too and really nice music to soothe you through the game.

Hempuli says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:39pm

@xhunterko: I sent BitDefender mail about that and according to VirusTotal they've cleared the malware rating after a re-analysis :) Thanks for telling me about this!

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:53am

I couldn't really figure out what to do. I think this is a case where I feel like if the world was smaller, it would've been easier for me to feel like I knew where I was going. Or maybe a 'ping' mechanic? It's got a nice 2600 vibe, though, so I dug simple graphics.

xhunterko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:40am

@Hempuli Your welcome!

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Swim for few minutes. Can't find nothing new :(

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46pm

With even the tiniest indication of where the creature was -- a roar that got louder, some sort of radar ping -- this would be an interesting hunt.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]