Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear Revengeance

by Alex Rose - Jam Entry

Rude Bear Revengeance is the 6th installment in the Rude Bear series (one has been created for every Ludum Dare since 25, as well as an extra one for Flappy Jam), and the fourth game in the main timeline (and currently the one latest in time).

It's set in the year 3012 in Neo-Liverpool, after the events of Claire's Voyage unfolded.

Rude Bear's been brought to life as a cyborg cyberpunk warrior, and it's time for him to get revenge on The Wizard for turning him Rude.

Armed with his photon whip, he has to flamekick, wallrun, flip, chandelier, whip, retract and hookshot his way to his mortal nemesis, and punish him for his crimes.

It's a Cyberpunk Ursine Extravaganza!

Controls:

- Move with WASD/Arrow Keys
- Jump with space (jump infinitely after getting the powerup).
- Wallrun by walking into a wall after getting the powerup.
- Aim the whip with the mouse after obtaining it.
- Fire and recoil the whip with left click.
- Reel yourself towards the whip with right click.
- Dive kick with E.


Optional theme #DoFlips achieved.

Alex Rose (@Vorpal_Games) - Code, Design, GFX, SFX, Webpage.
Daniel Burrows (@QuothTheRaven2) - Graphics
Rekkitt (@Rekkitt) - Lift/Title/Desert Music
Anchore State (Anchore-State on soundcloud) - Underground Music

Special thanks to:
Antony Dewar (@Panttts) - Original Webpage design, co-creator of the Rude Bear franchise with Alex, graphic designer for Rude Bear 1, RBRising, RBRadio, RBResurrection and RBX.

If you want to play the rest of the series:
http://vorpal-games.com/rude-bear/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#20Fun(Jam)4.00
#35Overall(Jam)3.94
#56Humor(Jam)3.72
#62Audio(Jam)3.89
#94Graphics(Jam)4.20
#143Mood(Jam)3.61
#150Innovation(Jam)3.51
#468Theme(Jam)2.97

Comments

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03am

Sorry about this, my ISP is absolutely terrible in the early hours of the morning, my ftp client claims it will be up within 30 minutes but it occasionally darts to 2 hours, it's a 50mb file. Hopefully it'll be up soon.

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

Overall, I felt like it needed stronger design. After getting a new powerup, the instructions were nice but there wasn't enough room to try the new powerup except for the wall run. The powerups are also too closely placed together to really enjoy each one and learn when to use each one.

The audio felt kind of thrown in there. The art was nice and the powerups were actually really cool, but from an experience standpoint I just couldn't get into it.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

Perhaps I shouldn't have presented them as powerups - they're simply the core controls of the game, I just didn't want information overload of "Here are all your abilities", and on their own they're useless, so I just threw in one section for each control so you know how it works. You need all of them for combat. The core game is a pure flippy combat game.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36am

RUDE BEAR LIVES AGAIN! Man, this was fun. I played with the Xbox 360 controller and had to map the mouse to the right stick but I managed to beat the boss. Not really sure what the other guy was talking about, the first part felt like small info sections, not powerup collections. Felt fine to me. Physics are a little screwy on the jump but #DOFLIPS was gained so it's all good. I love seeing the new RBR tiles at work and DAT NORMAL MAP - return of Dethkube gives high humor score, too. Rude Bear will never die!!!

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Really hard - but I love the wall jump and dive kick mechanics they felt the most satisfying. Rope whip could do with some fine tuning as I didn't want to use it most of the time. Loving the normal mapped graphics and music!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Awesome game. I love the art and the humor. The sound seems right and the animations are gorgeus. The only problem is that the gameplay need to be more paced, with more time to test your controls (you need time to learn to use them). In a moment you are in a tutorial and seconds later you are fighting against a lot of enemies that kill you.. anyways, the idea is brilliant! Good job!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I'm trying to play the web game. Not loading. "Bad file length".

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Easily one of the best LD29 entries I have played so far. Fun, Challenging but not too hard. There were a few rope-bugs, like my rope shooting off at 1000mph through walls. That said, bugs are beyond likely with such an ambitious task in only 3 days.

good work ^^

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45pm

This is fantastic. Loving the graphics, the dynamic music, and the humour. The divekick is really satisfying to use. I feel like it gets too frantic too quickly, but otherwise its great.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48pm

@SoupWithBits That's a unity download error, means the file got interupted during download on your end or something. You can remedy it with ctrl+f5 to refresh your browser's cache, or I would actually recommend playing it on the full version.

@Everyone else, Cheers. Particularly @JoshOS, I probably could've patched that bug, but I found it amusing and started abusing it for my own runs to zoom off.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Kickass. I would pay for this.

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

cool game ... controls are not easy ... but during a jam is not easy polishing such controls. cool game indeed.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very well done. There's definitely a some nice mechanics in there. I didn't like the long lift intro, and the combat felt a bit random, I'm not sure I got through by skill. But I like the long falls with flaming kicks! :-)

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Errors whith the web version :(
Can you compile a mac version for those who are not on windows ?
I'll be back to check that, looks cool ! :)

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Very awesome. Graphics are great. You even have normal mapping in there. Chaotic in a fun way, but the controls are really difficult to get used to. Great music transition effects.

4026 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Seriously entertaining movement mechanics, though they can feel a little fiddly in the smaller rooms. It wasn't until the final huge boss arena that I really felt able to all my abilities to good, fluid use.

sockfolder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

This is a very intense game. The whole atmosphere was pretty cool, especially the down kick sections. Unfortunately I found the grappling hook a bit hard to use, and mainly just tried to attack with it. Other than that control issue, the game is awesome.

radmars says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11am

Wow this is awesome! I love fast paced games like this. Seems kinda OP that the whip kills most enemies in one hit, haha. The movement acceleration (running in particular) felt wonky at first but it maybe didn't matter so much when flying through the air like a madman. Also it would be good to move down the Unity window in the HTML page, it was hard not to hit my bookmarks accidentally.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Some really cool game mechanics here, I struggled with the controls a bit though. Juggling the space, run forward and e key was quite tricky. But still, it's awesome when you get the timing just right and pull off a neat ass flying kick into an enemy.

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really cool game, the character is moving a little too fast for me, that's pretty hard ^^ . Good job !

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Man, I keep getting to the Wizard and then getting killed... But other than me sucking at the game, this was awesome. Gameplay, graphics, audio - everything was really awesome this time around. Great work! Now if only I could beat the wizard...

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37pm

neat and lots to do. i had trouble getting all the controls down, but the quality is really high, congrats!

RetroEpic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:05am

Wow, what a crazy and awesome game. It's amazing that those mechanics all work together so well despite mixing so many different kinds of movement. Nice work!

May 2, 2014 @ 3:39am

Awesome game, though it was a bit laggy for me. I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

Alex Rose says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Yeah, probably should go standalone if you can't run it very well (or not fraps it, iunno), it's quite intensive with normal mapping and whatnot for a weaker machine I guess. The graphical settings can be changed in the standalone version to accomodate for that.

blay09 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Yet another amazing Rude Bear game. This one is really intense, I felt like a ninja diving through the air beating everything to pieces! The music is implemented very nicely, I like how it's not just running in the background but changing dynamically as you play. Loved the elevator scene. Looking forward to the next title in the franchise.

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great game! I like the graphics and audio very much. The lift in the beginning is a nice idea and the step by step introduction to all the game elements is nice too. But I think I would leave the whip out of the game, to simplify the game.

Alex Rose says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:02pm

You can actually unlock NoWhip mode if you complete the game, but that is basically ultra hard mode because the whip is the primary mechanic and your main weapon.

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:00am

I was already impressed by your previous LD entry, and I gotta say this one doesn't disappoint at all. I didn't really get all the controls, yet I was able to jump around and maneuver like a freaking spiderman. Superbe game!

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:20am

The visuals were super awesome, the fact that you all managed to get shaders in there is crazy to me, the particle effects and the glowing were really cool. I know how hard it is to get a physics system to work out for a player controlled character so it is great that you managed to hone the controls as much as you did.

The hookshot made me feel as cool as batman, the wall run made me feel as swift as spiderman, and the divekick made me feel as badass as superman. All great choices though all at once it was a bit overwhelming, the tutorial was a welcome addition :)

GarethIW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:51pm

What a sense of speed! Amazing music and visuals with lots of juicy effects. I found it hard to get to grips with exactly how to use the grapple, but the jump/divekick combo felt good.

caranha says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:46am

Could not play your game :-( There was some sort of problem with the zip file... Even tried to download it twice!

Archive: /home/caranha/Downloads/RudeBearRevengeance.zip
End-of-central-directory signature not found. Either this file is not
a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive. In the
latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
the last disk(s) of this archive.
unzip: cannot find zipfile directory

Alex Rose says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:24pm

That's odd. It must be because the file's pretty big and it got messed up mid download. I guess try reloading your browser's cache if you can be bothered trying again, or try on the webplayer?

caranha says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Yeah, tried downloading one more time, something is funny with your zipfile :-/

Can't use the webplayer because Unity's webplayer hates Linux :-)

GFM says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

RUDE BEAR strikes again!!!

Fun game! But, gosh... I was OP from the start... why was it so hard?
This really, really fun!

May 9, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I feel like this would have benefitted from being simpler. Like, remove the grappling or the divekick or infinite jumps, and just keep two or one of them. I liked the quick pace of the game, which was kind of ruined because of the many small enemies crammed into small spots that you had to grind through.

Very nice graphics, and the audio part of things was not too shabby either. Best part was definitely the elevator ride.

VDZ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Let's get this out of the way first: The whip SUCKS. It never fires in the direction you want it to go, you're never quite sure if it's still going forward or already retracting, it clings to stuff you don't want it to cling to, and it pulls your character around like a puppet in unexpected ways and makes you feel like you're not in control of your character anymore. It's very awkward to use and IMO it detracts from the game.

That said, everything else about the game is fucking awesome. It's awesome to run around and wreck stuff, it feels awesome to divekick the shit out of everything, it feels awesome to run past a dozen lasers and escape unharmed. Everything looks awesome, sounds awesome and feels awesome. The final boss fight in particular has you clearly kicking ass in a challenging way. The 'no whip' mode was even better, combining significant difficulty (but never to the point of frustration due to well-placed spawns) with kicking ass.


Some suggestions:

- There's a bug in the final boss fight in the third and second stage of the fight; touching the separated treads occasionally leads to a state where your jumps no longer function correctly (they become really short) and you can no longer divekick. Touching the treads again generally fixes the issue.

- It's possible to die in the transition between the second stage of the boss and the third stage; if you are slowly falling towards the boss or are already hurt and fall towards the boss, you can receive lethal damage before you even get the chance to do something. (The boss's body doesn't hurt until the transformation, so suddenly receiving damage from something that dealt no damage until you hit it is a very lame way to die.)

- It wasn't clear to me when I activated a spawn point. Maybe a change of spawn point color and/or a sound effect might make this more clear.

- Similarly, it was frequently unclear to me whether I properly hit (and dealt damage to) an enemy or not. Making the enemy flash red or similar and/or playing a sound effect indicating a hit would help make this more clear. It might also have been a collision issue; particularly in the case of the big circles firing lasers and the second stage of the final boss fight, it felt like dive-kicks that should've dealt damage did nothing. If this was intended and I just attacked incorrectly, a sound effect or other form of feedback could tell me so, otherwise it feels like it's just bugged.

Alex Rose says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Thanks a tonne for the feedback man, the flashing red thing is really useful, I hadn't thought of that whatsoever but that should happen. The spawn points like.. go from no colour to a little orange glow, but it isn't too obvious. I should've made it so the steam didn't activate until you went in them.

And you diagnosed the treads glitch! I knew it happened but not the solution and I think I can see a solution to that now.

And you're completely right about the whip, I'd never done rope physics and it's shit. I should've given it more time or done it completely differently.

But thanks a lot, that was really useful feedback!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]