Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

P.F.G - Portable Forcepoint Generator

by gabbsson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You find yourself mysteriously situated outside a secret laboratory deep beneath the surface.. Can you utilize the tools you are given to reach safety atop the surface!?

Controls:
WASD / Arrow keys - Move, Jump
Mouse - Aim

L-Click - Shoot / Detonate (Hold when shooting to charge)
R-Click - Shoot / Detonate (Hold when shooting to charge)

Only one of each vortex can be present at any given time!

If the game is too hard feel free to try the post mortem version! It should provide a less steep learning curve!

So heres my entry to the Compo! Hope you enjoy playing it as much as I did making it! Excuse the music, my first attempt ever!

Dont forget you need XNA redist or XNA installed to play!
I used Farseer Physics.

Ps.
I have included instructions for adding custom maps :)

EDIT: The level creating wont work unless you replace an existing map (I made a mistake in the code which was supposed to allow for more maps to be added on top of the existing).

Post mortem v1.1 fixes the stupid resolution restriction and Ive added a pause menu which lets you exit whenever. (accesed through escape). Also added arrowkeys to controls. Switched 2nd and 4th level to "balance" difficulty increment.
Id love to fix the control-sluggishness and choppy collision with the ground, but that'll be for an other day. (v 1.2)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#86Innovation3.94
#191Overall3.61
#282Mood3.33
#289Humor2.90
#322Fun3.31
#394Audio3.00
#428Graphics3.35
#623Theme3.19

Comments

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Very nice entry. So nice I wasn't even mad it is yet another WASD-only, widescreen-only game. Because for once it seems there's some content, polish, and engaging gameplay here.

The character sometimes gets stuck on the very corner of blocks. It can be unstuck, but still would be better if it could be fixed. I found the difficulty uneven. Took me way too long to pass the lava moat on the second level. Then I finished the games just as I was getting the hang of it: it's not obvious that to close a vortex you have to open a new one of the same color.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

Thanks for the comment! Glad you enjoyed it. (Didnt even dawn on me to add more control-schemes..)
I am aware of the corner-bug, but didnt have time to fix it. Yeah its hard to make even levels when i "know" the solution, it needs some testing and tweaking!

Diamonde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

I really enjoyed this enry!
There were some parts which could be more polished, but the game mechanics were executed very well. I think it was very simple to understand the basics, and immediately it got challenging and very fun to play.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

I liked the forcepoint puzzle mechanics but the somewhat sluggish controls diminished the fun a little bit. A good well rounded package nevertheless.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Thanks for your comment, your game is really interesting. Has a little bit of a Metroid-feel to it! Good job! :)

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Really enjoyed this, the puzzle mechanics were kind of sloppy (as in, the best way to complete the puzzles was to be lucky) but overall it was a really nice little game.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Doesn't work for me, the window opens, sets a weird sound, and quits :(

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28am

(Windows 8 not updated, XNA Redist installed, Athlon II X3 460, Geforce 8800 GTS, some really slow hard drive)

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

The game is, im ashamed to say, 1280x720 only. If your screen does not support 720p it wont run. I regret making this decision now, it was to make sure the aim was correct. But ive learned alot from this experience and I'll make sure not to repeat the same mistakes next LD! (sorry to anyone who cant play the game :( )

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nice entry with a lot to it I think.
A lot of thought went in to this one if I were to take a guess.

Pixels look good and I like the environement!

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very nice game mechanic

May 2, 2014 @ 4:47am

Very fun, loving the graphics! I like how there is this gun like portal. The music is awesome :D Great work!

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:53am

Had a heck of a time getting over that first lava pit. The force mechanics in the game were pretty fun, though. Parallax backgrounds always look nice, too.

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Nice mechanic and everything, but this game went way over my head. I can't get it :'(

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Oh no thats no good! Id recommend trying the post mortem which let you try some other levels first. I will however remember this til next LD and make sure to have a better difficulty progression. My hint is: Try to combine the vortexes to push/pull you in the right direction!

Artless says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Your second level may be your most difficult. I would move it to the end of the game at this point.

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I have moved it in the post mortem (I think, should double check). I'm not allowed to move it in the original though am I?

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:11pm

A bit too hard for me, I got stuck at the first lava pit :/ It's a good idea to give tutorial texts, but it would have been even better to propose some non-lethal ways to get some practice with to the tools. Still, this is neat and I'm sure I'd enjoy a more polished version of the game.

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

A very solid entry, especially for the 48 hour compo. Very interesting mechanics, slightly hindered by a very steep learning curve, but in the end a very rewarding experience.

May 2, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Cool concept, I didn't get too far however, the first jump is way to hard for a first introduction to the mechanics. I like the artstyle very much!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:06am

Really well made entry! Great graphics, mechanics and game progression!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]