Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Soils

by TheGrieve - Jam Entry

Samuel doesn't know who, what or where he is, but he knows things aren't going well. Dig up evil from beneath your feet and try to stave off whatever fate awaits him.

- Arrows to moves
- Space to dig
- Find essence to stay alive
- Avoid the Groundskeeper
- Secret items and powers to find
- Reunite with your beloved pet

We never got to finish our level structure for this so we wrapped it up into a survival style effort. Stay alive and find more essence.

Made in Javascript with PhaserJS

- Art + animation: @DesignThenCode, @BirdKing
- Game code + concept: @thegrieve, @NJMcode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#214Graphics(Jam)3.79
#296Mood(Jam)3.21
#335Innovation(Jam)3.09
#345Humor(Jam)2.64
#387Overall(Jam)3.18
#530Fun(Jam)2.69
#671Audio(Jam)1.48
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very well done, the mechanics, art style, and story were unique and fun

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

I loved the narration, even if there wasn't any sound that I could hear in the game. It's an interesting take on the theme, but the lack of skill-based challenges (whether you dig up something or not is random) makes it hard for me to get into.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Wow! I love the style and he narration :) Good job!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Simple mechanics but they work together very well. Excellent job! Perhaps more enemies to dodge would be nice like projectile throwing ghosts or something.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Hahahahah jack skelenton? Very funny i like your style.

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

A different type of "digging" game! I like!

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

Great atmosphere. Great art. I wish there was a little more to do, but what's there is well done.

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46am

nice touch with the narration. I like how this suits the theme both literally and figuratively. Digging did get old after a little while.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39am

The narration was tasteful, and I liked the art, at least what I saw of it. For some reason the ground tiles failed to load.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23am

The drawings are lovely! Not sure i like the star-field as the background.

TheGrieve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50am

Hey guys,

Thanks for all the feedback, we had plans for a level progression that explains the beacons and the ghost dog (he's still in there if you find his grave, and dig it up), which added a bit more skilled searching, but alas, there's a time limit :D

Re: the starfield, seems the tilemap isn't loading in for some people, and the rain makes it look like a starfield, please try Ctrl+F5 and hopefully it loads in second time around.

Thanks for checking it out,

Grieve

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Seems really nicely polished :) For my browser though, space made it scroll to the bottom making it frustrating to play. It seems like this is only a problem for me though

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15am

This is the beginning of a nice survival game. Your pet could scare of a few types of creepies. Good entry with nice art style.

Guybrusch says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11am

When i hit space the site is scrolling down and i cant see the whole game. The art is nice.

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Great art ! I liked it

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Love the narrative comments, that work as a tutorial at the same time. Nice mechanics idea with standing still to detect essence. And love the character graphics, and the dog! :)

Not quite challening enough for a survival game, but that's a minor tuning issue.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Great theme, but has a complete lack of challenge. Great narration though, overall the mood is great, work on the gameplay and this could make a great game.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

The narration was excellent!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Great art! Some sound would add to the mood. Good job!

Slader16 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I thought it was really fun! And that health bar, amazing!

njmcode says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! Regarding the lack of sound: we simply ran out of time. I have some music and ambience in progress that will get added to a release in the very near future. We'll be hacking away and improving this for quite some time yet!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

The game has a great atmosphere but it could use some music to make it even better. Love the art style and gameplay. Well done!

Muciojad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Nice graphic, but that's pity that there isn't any sound and difficulty challenge ;] Anyway it is very solid entry. I like main-character look, it's... so specific ;D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Well done, great name!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice Graphics, but dont have songs, dont it ?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

a little to macabre for my taste ,
except that a very well done game .

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I'm a big fan of the tutorial through plot dialogue. It's well done here.

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

The ground does not render correctly for me. It is just pitch black...

ruerob says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:22am

For me the ground doesn't render, too. All I see is black. I didn't give a rating before it is fixed, because I want to see the whole experience before. I think it is a great game and want to thank you for your entry.

May 6, 2014 @ 9:21am

Great art style and narration, a bit more of a challenge would have been nice.

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice work. Realy like graphics style

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Bug: Zombies can walk trough walls.

The graphics are really cool! Cool detail on the players head! I like the text-bounce effect a lot! :)

I somewhat didn't come to such places as seen in your screenshots, but I looted some graves.
I kinda dislike there is no player input when digging - it would be cool to dig faster when pressing space rapidly.

I'm really missing the audio on this entry, it would possibly have created a great mood.


All in all very cool graphics, but the game soon gets repetitive.

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Nice idea and art work. Try adding some sound, that would make the experience more enjoyable!

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Very cool graphic style and the atmosphere in the game, good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]