Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tycho

by markusfisch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You need to find three crystals. They may be on the surface or beneath.

Since I went out of time to create cool levels, it's not very hard.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#474Graphics3.28
#899Mood2.60
#999Innovation2.45
#1007Theme2.59
#1022Humor1.67
#1225Fun1.86
#1229Overall2.20

Comments

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

I like the graphics, but this game is extremely short. Either that, or I missed something. Still, it's a game, so congratulations with making a game in 48 hours!

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

The graphics are good and the scrolling is very smooth. I like the mixture between top-down and side view. The game is quite short, but the function is there. Nice one!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Solid proof of concept, you should put some more time into it!

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I like the graphics, and the way you control the character with the mouse...but it was a little bit on the short side.

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

This is a very nice proof of concept that could easily turn into a pretty cool game with a couple of more mechanics and some nice level design.

Well done.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very good graphics. The idea of controlling the platformer bit with the mouse was a bit interesting :P

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

Well that was brief.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:05pm

That was fast xD well i like how the system works like you from up-down-right-left world to Platform, i also love the movement, feels good. The art is awesome, i like the aspect of the grass :). I see you didnt have time to make more levels but its ok you did a great work :D

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

It's the stig!

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very short. The idea is good but need to be longer to be really satisfactory. Good job, anyway!.

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Haha I won! Very nice graphics. Could use some sound!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Could have been something neat if it was longer than 15 seconds. Nice graphics at least!

Catmoo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:37pm

It certainly looks lovely, just a shame you ran out of time to make it harder :)

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:30am

Extremely short and without win conditions--what's here is very good, but unfortunately there simply isn't enough to really rate it on. Beautiful art direction and an interesting-looking character. I think you might get more out of controlling with the keyboard than the mouse?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]