Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Dwarf

by Nuclear_Hammer - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#99Audio(Jam)3.73
#128Graphics(Jam)4.07
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#236Mood(Jam)3.36
#278Humor(Jam)2.80
#351Theme(Jam)3.20
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#553Innovation(Jam)2.62

Comments

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

It's Yosemite Sam! I love the graphics and music, took me back to the old days. good job.

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

That was fun! The starting screens were amazing, I have to say, and the character looked funny. I had a bit of an issue predicting the hit detection, but everything else was pretty great!

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

Awesome game! I loved the graphics and sounds!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Full stars for music!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

For some reason this made me think of Castle of the Winds. Nice entry, it was fun smashing things with the hammer. Judging by your screenshots, was the spotlight an afterthought, or did I just not make it far enough?

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nice job:), loved the art and music:)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55am

Brian, some things were ready but could not be implemented like our tiamat :/ we loved this game and we will make updates yet.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Very cool game, could not make to the final boss though :/

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Good graphics !
nice work (:

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Very cool game! I dig the art, theme and audio. Is there a way to skip the cutscene? Because everytime I die I'm forced to watch it again. It kinda breaks the flow of the game.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04am

Cool game, lots of fun playing it. Nice music, too.

Yword says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22am

Nice graphics and music, and the intro screen is awesome! But the feel of attack is not strong, maybe you can apply some camera shake or knockback force when attacking the enemies.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:48am

Really awesome menus and music, really makes you want to play the game. It has a lot of potential to be an amazing game throughout. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14pm

The artwork is amazing ! Great music, I love this game !

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

VERY COOL GAME!!! Great job man!!! Awesome work!!!

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

Not a fun game. Enemies resurrect seconds after you smash them, making it a game about finding the stair before the mob train corners you.

I thought that indie devs would know more than unskippable cutscenes are the devil's work.

You didn't even bother following the theme: from the intro, it looks like it takes place inside a mountain, not "beneath the surface".

The skull on the main menu, and the intro text were lovely though. Rest of the game was a disappointment.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:26am

Well, that's your opinion! Thank you! =)

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:29pm

This was such a fun game and the music was just outstanding!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I played about four times, never managed to find the stairs. On the last play I discovered that running was the best option, but then it turned into "comb this large room looking one specific tile." It would be nice if there was more structure to the room, or something to use as a point of reference to make it easier to know where I've been before.

mechabit says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:43pm

The intro was awesome, really invoked the old 8bit era. Didn't think the in-game graphics matched the style though. I managed to get to the multi-eyed monster but then a bug made me stop moving and I just watched my guy get killed.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Great graphics and intro. But audio is a little bit tiring after first 10 minutes.

I have some mixed feelings about gameplay. At first I thought it's some crimsonland clone with dwarf, and lower difficulty. I was walking around and then... wow. There are stairs. And then gameplay changed from "I wonder what should I do" to that quite irritating Diablo 2 feeling, when you need to search caverns to find that one, last monster...

If you ask me I'd make first levels little smaller, to get a grip on game objective. Also I'd make monster respawn time little longer.

But overall it's fun to play :)

May 17, 2014 @ 9:30am

Very fun (and frustrating!) retro-style game!
Nice graphics, sound and music!

But I think the stairs are too hard to find, and the enemies respawn rate makes the game too hard... I only found one set of stairs before the Game Over.

Overall, a nice game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]