Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surf Ace

by Lyonsbanner - Jam Entry

Hi everybody,

This time, I'm been through a lot but I managed to do a little something.

There is not as much as gameplay I wanted to do, so all you have to do is to avoid obstacles just with up and down arrows.

You play a surfer who can surf over AND "beneath the surface" of the water.

The purpose of the game was supposed to be a rhythm game for a total duration of about a minute.

Sources soon. ;)

EDIT : I fixed the black screen. Tell me if it still didn't work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#273Humor(Jam)2.81
#413Theme(Jam)3.07
#634Graphics(Jam)2.63
#635Audio(Jam)1.92
#652Mood(Jam)2.44
#688Fun(Jam)2.21
#734Innovation(Jam)2.00
#751Overall(Jam)2.04
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

The background of the game is completely black right now. Up and down arrows work, that's about it. Is it a bug?

Lyonsbanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10am

Yes, indeed. It seems that one image didn't fully loaded the first time. Refresh and (maybe) the game will appear. I'll fix this problem of preloader next time.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50am

I see a black screen, and my dude is getting totally smashed by something every once in a while. I gave it a few refreshes, but to no avail.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Not sure if it should be considered a game, but I'd love to see this more fleshed out, especially with your music mechanic.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

That surfer is a real pro

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Worked properly here. The fixes seem to have done the job.

Those harmonic speeds. Every 6 turns you get walled and have to take one to the jaw. Hehe.

Not much to judge on, but still, good job.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

The sounds are funny, but there's not a lot to do...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:14am

It's funny to see the man surfing under the water XD. Might try to add another mechanic to make sure that you can evade every obstacle in case they come together from beneath and surface.

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26am

It's obviously missing some stuff (some kind of score and failure condition are obvious) but it's a good start. I like the shark sprite a lot, and the way the surfer can surf beneath the surface is pretty comical.
My main complaint is that it's often not possible to avoid the obstacles because there's a boat and a shark at the same time.

nSun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:47am

Nice concept, hurting things is funny.
Sadly sometimes, the choice is limited between hitting the boat or shark.
A 3rd option may complete the gameplay, if the surfer could jump. In this way, just add another type of obstacle, such as seagulls.

Harsay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:58am

Sometimes, it's impossible to dodge.

Jezzamon says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I like the graphics!

Marcellus says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Sometime sharks and boats are synched and can't be dodged

May 19, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Funny concept... :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]