Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Lies Beneath

by Ariake81 - Jam Entry

Instructions:
You Pilot the Experimental Submersible USU Maru on its maiden voyage to the depths of the Marianna Trench.
Navigate the trench and document the strange and exotic species you see. Each photo increases your funding giving you more air and power to explore deeper.

What lies Beneath the Surface?


Game Controls: Keyboard [ Joypad controls in brackets ]
--------------------------------------------------------

Left, Right Cursor Keys [ Left, Right Analog Stick] Move Craft

Up Cursor Key [ A Button ] Thrust

Space Bar [ X Button ] Take Photo (Take a Photo of species within the ships light aura)

Enter Key [ B Button ] Flood light (Warning: Use sparingly as it devours your power resources)


We highly recommend you see the game through to its conclusion!!!!....

Created using: Construct2, Photoshop, Reaper Audio, Caustic 3.

Team Powered by a combination of: Tesco Cheese Balls, Leffe Beer, Fultons Kebab meat, Galaxy Cookie Crumble, Wrestlemania 30 and John Carpenter's 'They Live'.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Theme(Jam)4.21
#40Mood(Jam)4.10
#58Audio(Jam)3.93
#99Overall(Jam)3.69
#102Graphics(Jam)4.17
#187Innovation(Jam)3.41
#264Fun(Jam)3.18
#567Humor(Jam)2.06
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

drnick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Your game has an immersive atmosphere. It's well executed. The shaders (or whatever ways you used to implement illumination) fit well. It's nice that you had the time to write different types of AIs (that one that makes the screen go red then goes away is pretty scary). However, collision with scenario is pretty annoying and difficult, and resets the game, impeding progress.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Great audio, and good job with the theme and the motif, very nice feel. I could stand with a slightly smaller hitbox, but it was fun!

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Awesome! Great visuals! I love the spooky fish and how they light up. The water ripple effect was great too. Very cool :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

I agree totally with previous comment by drnick.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Not too bad ! great use of theme and brilliant audio

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31am

Very nice game. I love that photo mechanic. The visuals and the sounds build an atmosphere which is fitting very well together. Good work and thank you for this beautiful entry.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Nice graphic and audio that produce a great mood! (but difficult...)

DeathCamel57 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:28am

I love it!

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:23am

Rad

ethankennerly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:55am

Exploring the perilous cave and photographing luminous creatures to the haunting melody and mechanical pulses enchanted me. If you continue to develop this, I was surprised that the vessel was colliding and restarting, almost without warning.

eastes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:44am

You made me lick the screen

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Great idea and even better execution! It has a wonderful atmosphere with the sub going down towards an unknown with not much light surrounding it while a great music is playing. I also like the idea that you do a research using a camera. It's a unique and deep experience. It's sure a keeper (keeping the desktop version)!

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Interesting concept and well presented on all fronts. I think checkpoints of some kind might help to keep the motivation to explore up, it got too time consuming after a while :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:31am

The audio is impressive! The radar sound makes me really feel like being at deep sea.

GrooveMan says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice. Very good atmosphere and fun to play. Starting over every time I crashed was a bit frustrating though.

binasa says ...
Jul 21, 2017 @ 3:58pm

Perception: A lightning paced attention game that will test your accuracy and reaction time.http://altaymagnit.ru/weather/sprint-598u-driver.php From M3me: Turn your iPad or iPhone into a fully secure wireless multi-touch trackpad, keyboard, remote and more for your Mac or PC. -Email error pop-up message added-Bookmark duplicate error fixed-'Save to Photo" function within the Bookmark category fixed-Minor Bug fixed. [url=http://downloadfreethingsfast.top/books-reference/quicker-mathematics-by-m-tyra-pdf.php]downloadfreethingsfast.top[/url] From Lyrics Studio: Learn every word of Weezers best songs.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]