Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Peas-ful Night's Rest

by JoeProgram - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A man, trapped by loneliness.
A woman, lost from her home.
A vegetable, that comes in a can.

Relive the drama of your most beloved vegetable-themed fairytale with The Princess and the Pea Part 2: A Peas-ful Night's Rest. A single pea placed beneath a mattress set the events in motion. Come learn the epic conclusion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#4Humor4.37
#22Innovation4.26
#138Fun3.62
#138Overall3.71
#298Mood3.31
#367Audio3.05
#525Graphics3.21
#813Theme2.95

Comments

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Wut... Okay!

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Whoa! pretty original!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

Haha I laughed pretty hard at the punchline in the intro, so random. I'm amazed that your mind went to that fairy tale when thinking of an idea for the theme. Fun stuff, enjoyed it.

drstik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

I'm going to need some peas and quiet after all the pea puns in this game.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

Hahaha, I loved all these pea-related puns and the intro was really cool! I enjoyed the mechanic and I think that's a cool take on the theme! Nice job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

It's like Kerbal Space Program and Jenga mated (I approve). It took me moment to get that the peas, are under the mattress, and then my head hurt.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Coool! Great art and concept! One of the best I've seen so far

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58am

I'm not proud. I'm just a guy who likes puns and physics puzzles. Quite pea-leased to have tried this game.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32am

Very nice game, pretty original! Loved the music, too.

drstik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

I'm going to need some peas and quiet after all the pea puns in this game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice physics-based gameplay and one of the most unique games I've played this compo.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Ha ha, that maniac prince! Great game, a little tough to control, but very innovative!

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Really fun game. I loved the graphics, I can tell you spent time and effort on the game. Great job!

tacs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I laughed. Hard though, still fun! :)

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17pm

amazing. Aside from the goofy slapstick comedy that comes from the physics, there's a really quirky, charming, punny sense of humor behind this wonderfully silly little game.
I'm so happy that this exists.

Therrato says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Whut? This was rather funny:), would have apriciated if the clicks were a bit more powerfull, now it takes a long long time to get to the other side of the room

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51pm

i'm all for dire puns

pretty game too :D

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:52am

The music is quite annoying, and I think the physics needs more fine tuning.
On the third level, I had the princess land on the red square, yet I didn't go to the next level, instead it said the princess had pealummeted. You should check if the princess is atop the red square. I then gave up.
The strong points of your game are humor and originality.

May 3, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Hahah nice game ! I love the novelty ! Really interesting game, great idea and very well implemented !

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Really unique game. It just gets very tedious to slowly move forward and keeping everything in balance. Dropping the princess safely at the goal in the third level, was impossible for me.

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

A strange idea. I'm surprised the balance of the mattress is still kept after frantic clicking, I would think it would much more unstable than that. I think this might be interesting to play on a touch screen device.

Kimau says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:25pm

At first I was peased but then the punshing levels took out all the peasure.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]