Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Fun

by Mefteg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath The Fun is jetski game in which you have to care about your gasoline tank to progress. You'll see how it's fun to ride your jetski but be aware of what is happening beneath the surface. You can play on your computer web browser or on your smartphone/tablet web browser. Enjoy and give feedbacks please :) Controls (Keyboard): Break: Left Accelerate: Right Rotate Up: Up Rotate Down: Down Controls (Touch): Break: Left part of the screen Accelerate: Right part of the screen Rotate Up: Top part of the screen Rotate Down: Bottom part of the screen

(Made with Phaser)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#388Humor2.70
#618Graphics3.08
#760Fun2.79
#866Overall2.87
#899Mood2.60
#912Audio1.95
#981Innovation2.49
#988Theme2.64

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Oh we aren't supposed to kill all the fish...? I fell better about my 4 fish run now...
I ended up on my node more than once...
Cool graphics, quite effective...

Mefteg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Thank you very much!

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Loved the irony, good entry overall!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

It was a bit annoying that the initial gas tank would often go under the waterscooter, thus making it very hard to get a good game going. Overall I think the game was a tad unforgiving with the gasoline distribution. Otherwise, a solid game, the control felt very natural!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

I loved it! Great art style and execution! 5 out of 5! :)

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

That jetski is fun to control! Nice job.

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I failed at this so bad... for a while i travelled on my nose ..
so, fun, right? XD

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

you made the mono-color-look look good :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

very good gameplay! Little off the theme, but i like it!

Mefteg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Thank you all very much, it means alot to me!

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

It's pretty fun :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22am

love it, altho I did feel there was something missing in gameplay. But riding the jetski is pretty fun!

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:24am

Nice and simple, great!

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51am

So fun!?
I liked the graphics and the controls

Mefteg says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53am

Thank you :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

so much wow many fishes killed wow that was great!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice minimalistic style, the controls are fun, could be a fun mobile game :)

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:42am

Every time I jumped, I flipped, and it didn't seem like I could right myself. :(

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great fun. Very hard! I like the minimal art style. Some audio would be a big plus.

Mefteg says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Thank you!

@alwaysinbeta : I think you're right but I've no skill for sound producing so I couldn't make them by myself. But I want to learn it (8-bit style ;)) and make a better game next time !

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:42am

Interesting idea, nice job

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice use of limited amount of colors and the funny fish kill counter ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]