Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Google

by mustaine - Jam Entry

What goes on under the floors of Google HQ?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Humor(Jam)4.18
#81Theme(Jam)3.78
#133Graphics(Jam)4.06
#165Mood(Jam)3.55
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#187Fun(Jam)3.31
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#347Audio(Jam)3.13
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

Really cool, Love the minimal models, and great game

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

I can't pass the red button (I don't know how to protect it or activate it)... but still an nice idea ;p~

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Didn't know what to do. But the setup felt like a cross between the IT Crowd and Half Life. Brilliant. :)

Penguincat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I really like the art style, it's sort of like Minecraft except not ugly! However, once I got to the red button, I tried pushing allll the buttons on my computer and nothing happened, so I don't know if this is a bug or what. So there really wasn't any gameplay, just a bit of walking and reading and admiring the nice art. But it did catch my curiosity and made me want to see more, so it was disappointing (in a good way) that I couldn't!

Naouak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Can't get past the red button ? Is this supposed to be the end ?

May 4, 2014 @ 1:16am

Either this is the worst bug or the best cliffhanger

May 5, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really cool, would have liked to have seen more. What did the red button do?

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:49am

Hey guys, sorry for the delay - work just took over this week. Updated version here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/9167625/LDGames/LD29/UnderGoogle.html

Obviously can't rate the newer version, but for those who wanted to know what happened at "the button!"

woodenrabbit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:22am

Really well done I enjoyed it :D

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:44am

Awesome aesthetic, but it takes far too long to get to the actual game personally. The collisions in the battle are a little temperamental, sometimes attacks won't register, and since it seems to speed up in difficulty pretty quickly, it becomes a problem fast. Overall it's cool though ^_^

wicht says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:42am

Awesome idea and good use of minimal graphics with good result. I just couldn't resists...pressed the Button myself after only one enemy ;) Love the homemade audio ... phhheeessshhhh

Lars Faust says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:14am

Haha, very well presented.
Gameplay works as well, the punching feels good, but it does get very hard quickly.
Great job.

Hammervuis says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Looks gorgeous.

May 6, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Really liked the art style of the place and the characters especially. Great effort for Sat/Sun and the updated version with sfx/music is much improved. The elevator whooshing sound was great. :)

mortus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:10pm

I like the intro, but would be great if it were skippable.

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:16pm

You can skip the intro after the first attempt by clicking "retry." That said, I might just have to make that option always available.

recursor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Can't I push the button? Aw man... I like the voxel art style you have going on. Very nice.

eckcz says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:01pm

STILL GOOGLE+ yeah made my day!

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Very nice art style. But compo version is little bit confusing :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:27am

really funny - nice mood and for once my purpose in life was justified!

cageinabird says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:30am

Love the presentation and humour! The audio adds a lot in the post compo version too.

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Liked the art style a lot. Nicely done. :)

MrLeePerry says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Hahahha! Simply awesome. Too funny :) You're an inspiration!

loxo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:17am

Nice idea with great graphics. Would have liked more game play and some audio, though. The post-compo version is much better!

May 16, 2014 @ 12:56am

Really funny and polished ^^

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:34am

This is such a pity...
The post-jam game is awesome!The music sets up a perfect mood, the graphics are great and I liked the idea a lot.

But... what you sent/were able to finish for the jam is really far from the game itself... =/

jestar_jokin says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Love it! Great humour. The models remind me of the old Sierra adventure games like Police Quest.

piegames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Don't forget to add a download version, because none of the web ones work: "Error launching Unity web player"

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]