Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Europa

by Intoxicatious - Jam Entry

Start game with 'R' or Space.
YOU MAY HAVE TO PRESS RIGHT TO START
Use Arrow Keys to dodge walls.
Get points until your oxygen runs out.
Get more points by going fast.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#333Overall(Jam)3.28
#338Mood(Jam)3.11
#340Theme(Jam)3.22
#364Graphics(Jam)3.41
#439Audio(Jam)2.90
#480Innovation(Jam)2.75
#531Humor(Jam)2.16
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

I have rated about 100 games, and this is definitely the best. Good job. Everything is great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

Came for the 2600 aesthetic and it delivered. I really liked the super-retro look and the art. I would keep going on this. I'd like to be able to move more openly, fire, and collect powerups. A 2600 style modern shooter at 60fps :) Keep working on it.

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nicely done. Good idea with the gameplay.

technocf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

How to play, quite confusing.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Nice gameplay! The feeling when you go at full speed for a while is great!

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice retro remake.

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I was confused too, then pressed to the right and the ship moved. got 119130 points, but the game was just keep pressing right, no real challenge because the ship dogded on its own :/

Sodaware says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I only have two (very minor) complaints. The vertical movement of the ship feels a bit too smooth - it doesn't move in the same pixel size as the horizontal scrolling so it doesn't feel quite like a 2600 game.

It's also a bit too easy - there's no real penalty for hitting the walls. Maybe having it deplete O2 would have made me more careful.

I hope I don't sound too harsh because I really enjoyed playing it! The art is great, and even though the sound is simple it captures the feel of the old 2600 games pretty well and doesn't get annoying.

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Brilliant choice of audio. Well done!

pkenney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

Wow, flying in the dark is nuts, cool touch! Had me on the edge in a good way. Love the style, too, you nailed the look.

Seeing this game is very interesting, because I started from the same core idea! In some ways we made the same game: a side-scrolling space ship flying under the ice on Europa. But in other ways we made the exact opposite game: yours is about moving a straight line to avoid waves, while mine is moving a wave to avoid along a straight line. Give it a try and see what you think of the inversion.

Quick point of feedback - it took me a second to realize I had to hit right to start moving my ship in your game, you could add that to your text instructions in the note here.

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22am

Awesome aesthetics and sound design.
Going at full speed is challenging.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:14am

Nice game, really like how you play with the size of the field and light/dark.

Managore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:22am

I really liked the change in lighting. When all you had was the torch in front of you it was suddenly incredibly challenging but lots of fun!

Oh and the blocks remind me of Lego.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Nostalgia everywhere! Good job! The only thing I miss is a (online?) highscore board.

NeithR says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Love the retro atmosphere ^.^

Hippolyta says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Nice little retro game and your cover is awesome! ;-)

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:20am

Ah this game takes me back, the year was 1984 and I was only 6 back then, and boy did me and my bro love playing this game. I've got to say your port was flawless. Took me back to that great summer of 84.

;)

But seriously I'll drop the joke just in case somebody mistakingly believes me and scores you less because they think it's a port.

Fun game, my score was: 82710
And even though I probably shouldn't I'm going to factor that box art into my scoring of the game. Because I know how hard good photoshopping like that is, and seeing the box art was part of this game's experience.

Great work guys. :)

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:36am

Loved the navigating by flashlight sections.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Pretty fun, the flashlight mode was intense!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]