Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

UNDER

by ENDESGA - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- - -

THEY CAME FROM UNDER THE EARTH

- - -

Only had 8 hours to make this because I was having a holiday. But it's not too bad!

I'll definitely be working on this after LD, and I'm hoping to be putting it on the Android Store :D

At menu, press A to play, and D to exit;

IN GAME CONTROLS:
A - walk left
D - walk right
L_arrow - Shoot left
R_arrow - Shoot right

(Controls are simple because I was going to make this mobile. But it's not too great so I'm not sure.)

- - -

Please vote using the link at the top next to Source :)

Thank you so much!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#368Graphics3.45
#649Fun2.92
#876Overall2.86
#896Humor1.95
#932Audio1.89
#1049Mood2.38
#1058Theme2.46
#1100Innovation2.25

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice graphics. If I run to the left there's no world!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Yeah, I didn't get to put in the barriers >.>
But thanks!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41am

Really cool pixel art here! Given your really short time frame, it's solid work (but don't go left from the start!). Could have used some audio, though. :)

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

Considering you cut 40 hours off your allotted development time, this is quite impressive. Considering the end result, there isn't really a whole lot there. I liked the bit I got to play though.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

Nice concept here, really enjoy it!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I really like the simple controls

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Nice simple shooter, controls're basic and easy. Visually looks neat too! Pretty good for 8 hours :D

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

nice graphics :-) smooth animation too

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23am

Interested to hear how you'll translate this to mobile. Could be a lot of fun!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

You might want to wait to put android in all caps in your post, as that makes your entry show up for people looking for android games. Might be frustrating to some people.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:29am

I was really looking forward to your entry after playing COR last Ludum!
Too bad you only had 8 hours this time.
It's still quite fun as it is :D

ENDESGA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Thanks man :D
Yeah, I'm a little annoyed I lost so much time :/

But it's okay, I'm making UNDER better as we speak!

ChuiGum says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:43am

Love love the graphics, very impressed in what you got in only 8 hours. Nice!

minism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:51am

Graphics and feel are beautiful in this game, nice work!

Ditto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:36pm

nice pixels! ^^

Muciojad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I very like your other games and this is cool too although short time for developing. :)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Neat pixel art, really simple game, but nice considering the little amount of time used. Good luck for your mobile version! :)

BoneDaddy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Love the graphics. The paralax is really cool. The fade at the bottom is cool too, and the variety of enemy looks is great. Interesting control scheme. Sometimes I wasn't overly sure why I was getting hurt (think they were just popping up beneath me) and would die pretty quickly sometimes. Very cool concept though, great work

May 5, 2014 @ 11:04am

I did keep dying and I wasn't so sure why, but I think the game looked great. It feels like something that would be really enjoyable if you could spend more time on it

Nanolotl says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:10am

Controls felt really good, with the addition of some sound effects it could be very satisfying to play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]