Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pipe Wars

by ovenchips - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flappy Bird is stealing Mario's pipes. This means war! In response, Mario has torpedoed Flappy Bird's supply ship. Salvage all 10 pipes to give Mario back his mojo.

- Use the arrow keys to move.
- A and Z to surface/dive.
- Space to grapple or release pipes.

The game was created using PlayCanvas, the cloud-hosted game engine. The game is powered by WebGL and HTML5. You'll need a WebGL enabled browser to play it. Chrome, Firefox, Opera and IE11 should be fine. Let me know if you have any troubles though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#166Theme3.73
#235Humor3.03
#249Audio3.27
#308Graphics3.58
#340Mood3.24
#357Overall3.39
#391Innovation3.30
#433Fun3.15

Comments

sirival says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nicely done! It's actually pretty fun to go around and collect pipes and the balancing with the fuel is pretty good :D

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice. Another submarine game \o/ A bit hard to navigate with the big submarine covering half the screen, but i have no idea how one could fix this. Maybe allow changing the camera angle? And it is sooo hard. I dropped of 3 pipes, refueled after every one and ran out of fuel right next to the refueling station :-(

Definitely a fun game!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

The submarine feels great and is appropriate movement as a sub but it's a little stressful on the hand. Maybe mouse control? It also gets a little tedious searching for them but when you finally get them all there is some reward/relief.

(Just be careful not to press spacebar too fast!) Perhaps some extra objects/eye candy would help to keep the exploration feeling going.

Great work on the models/particle effects!

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

Really liked the sarcastic backstory .. Really interesting gameplay, but somehow felt a bit repetitive and didn't finished it. Good Job..

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

It's a pretty fun and relaxing game! I like how the audio makes if REALLY feel like you're underwater in a submarine. The story of why you're picking up those pipes is really funny too.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice, the submarine was a bit too big in my opinion, it covers a huge amount on the screen.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Great fun! Up and down was a pain for my hands! It took me a while to realised about moving forward (I was holding down Left and Right!)

Great Fun!

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Awesome. Much respect for doing 3D graphics for Ludum Dare. Would have been nice to have some feedback for when you can/can't grapple a pipe.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Awesome. I am not good at steering this thing...

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

That was a really funny idea. A lot of fun to play as well, nice touch on making only one of the spinners rotate when you turn too, good detail. Nice job! :)

callidus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:26pm

nice little game, quite calming to play good effort :-)

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:28pm

The movement feels really nice in this game :) Cool concept too! Enjoyed it ^^

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice graphics and music, but the control seems too slow and its difficult to go where you want if you need to turn. Good game anyways ;-)

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Great 3d game. Well balanced gameplay and funny introduction.

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice game ! I loved the music

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I had quite some submarine fun playing this game, thank you!

It would be great if you added a textual information on how to play to your logo or HUD as some people, including myself, tend not to read the "manual".

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Nice game ! It's fun at first, but get pretty repetitive soon. The graphics are nice, and I liked the mood :)

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice job! I think I might have to give PlayCanvas another look after seeing what you were able to accomplish.

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:29pm

It was easier to control the sub than I expected! Good job!

capnramses says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:14am

wow, there was a lot of sophisticated stuff in this game! my favourite bit is the way the propellers move independently. neat. the whole composition looks really nice. impressed that the physics and collisions all work really well!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:41am

Very nice and fun game. Music is very cool.

davidB says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:05am

Well done but repetitive and not fun, I stopped to play before end. The backstory is the most funny part.

daredevildave says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice game. Great to see another PlayCanvas game!

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I had difficulty picking up the tubes because the submarine obscured most of the screen which prevented me from aligning the sub correctly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]