Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Max Terror: Beach Patrol

by tenpn - Jam Entry

In "Max Terror: Beach Patrol" you play a terror junkie shark called Max.

Zoom menacingly around the peaceful bay, terrorising swimmers, herding them into place, then bursting into the middle of them at the perfect moment for the ultimate terror-boosting money shot. Om nom nom.

Cause maximum terror before the swimmers can evacuate the beach, and enter your score on the leaderboards.

This game was made for Ludum Dare 29 in the Team Category in just over 48 hours, following the theme of "Beneath the Surface".

We hope you enjoy it!

- Capsaicin Games (https://twitter.com/capsaicingames)

This game can be played with an xbox 360 controller (windows/linux only) or keyboard. The keys are:
- WASD - steering left/right/up/down
- Left shift - forward
- Comma/period - jaws open/close. Press repeatedly!

http://capsaicingames.wordpress.com/

Capsaicin Games are:

Stephen Bridges http://www.twitter.com/tinheadned
Andrew Fray http://www.twitter.com/tenpn
Chris Gibb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#83Humor(Jam)3.55
#132Innovation(Jam)3.58
#216Fun(Jam)3.26
#238Graphics(Jam)3.71
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#316Theme(Jam)3.27
#316Mood(Jam)3.16
#554Audio(Jam)2.50

Comments

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10am

This is awesome! Eating people and doing awesome shark stunts. Doesn't get much better than that. Well done guy!

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

A little hard to steer with a keyboard but still fun.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Fun to chase some people as a shark, felt like I was in a Jaws movie.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36pm

This is hilarious, pretty sweet controls too. This needs to succeed Goat Simulator!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I bit tough without a controller.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Haha, that was fun! I love the Tony Hawk-esque little descriptions! Controls are a bit high on momentum, it's hard to change my direction, but all in all a good play. Bonus points for incorporating leaderboards!

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Would be great if you could provide a linux-executable, since webplayer is only win/mac

eteeski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

haha I had too much fun jumping out of the water :b lol great game :)

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:16pm

AMAZING FUN! Very funny concept. I appreciate that the people turn to red blocks when you eat them! creative

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:32am

Man that shark gets crazy air! Cool game.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:40am

Great idea!

demonshanker2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Cool graphics, love the stunts!

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I love the shark animation, very smooth, beautiful water.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Shark jumping indeed is fun.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Fun to launch out of the water. but hard to steer accurately. overall well done, the animations looked nice.

May 4, 2014 @ 1:02am

The foward key should be r shift/ctrl. I feel it's harder with the left one

May 4, 2014 @ 5:31pm

"Tony Hawk's Pro Jaws Simulator 2014 The Movie The Game"
Really cool! But steering is really really hard on the keyboard :T

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:04am

Massive terror!! Got to 113, munching in the air.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:40am

Wow! The shark looks and feels amazing!
Awesome job!

Logun says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Very cool. Sadly the shark suffer imo from a lack of maniability... I wanted to eat them all and I can't turn as fast as i neeeeed !
Really enjoyed :)

TinheadNed says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:34pm

One of the devs here, glad everyone is enjoying the game. Just wanted to grant credit to the shark where it's due, the asset store: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/2790

We've been really interested in everyone's comments on here so far - the aim with the steering was to provide something similar to how we felt a shark moves, so we based the turning speed on the forward speed of the shark (Max!), without compromising on the game being fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]