Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Driller

by Mr. Jif - Jam Entry

You play as a space miner that has been separated from his team. Armed with nothing but your handy drill you venture out into this new unforgiving world.

-----------------------------------

The game was made in the Futile framework for Unity.
We had a great time making this game and hope you enjoy it.

Team
Josh Maggard - Programming/Game Design
Dan Konves - Art/Game Design
Tyler Collins - Music/Sound Effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Fun(Jam)3.73
#77Overall(Jam)3.74
#133Theme(Jam)3.65
#144Audio(Jam)3.59
#256Graphics(Jam)3.67
#256Mood(Jam)3.31
#313Innovation(Jam)3.14
#373Humor(Jam)2.56

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03am

Very fitting to the theme. Music is very spot on. Great level design principles too.

My only complaint is the jumping puzzles got a bit repetitive, but it was still a blast to play!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Wow! Fluid controls, great art, perfect music. 5/5! Very well done!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Well done with the theme idea! Great controls, graphics, nice!

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Really great! Sadly I had two problems with it. The first time I played, the game was somehow zoomed in, so only a part of the screen was visible. And then I got stuck in a wall after drilling and using the passage. I was followed by an enemy, maybe this has something to do with it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Good level design and I like the drill mechanic, works well with the levels and I can imagine this being great if there's more chance to cut your own route. I think the controls and collision for the jumping could have been a bit more forgiving

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Awesome controls, one of my favorite games in the jam by far!

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Loved it!

Algerus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:16am

The character art is wonderful, and there's a surprising amount of depth here for something done in a weekend. The music fits well but the sounds used just seemed a bit off to me, but it did nevertheless work quite well in the game. What really stands out to me is the design work, especially the level design. The tutorial flows very nicely and feels really natural instead of a text dump. The level design after that is also very good, I was never confused as to where to go for too long but at the same time that information wasn't explicitly given to me. This even extends to the very end, where during the part leading up to the final room you tend to naturally discover the mechanic needed to cross the final gap. Knocking back a horde of invincible ghosts also felt really cool, and the timing on their stun is just long enough to be fair while still being panic inducing. Really well done, especially given the time constraints!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:48am

I made it pretty far, but I got lost and going back over some of those incredibly unforgiving jumps was too much for me. Until that point I really liked it. After getting the second upgrade, I got to a room that was full of ghosts I still couldn't hurt, so I assumed I missed an upgrade. There was one area I couldn't jump to, and I figured it was just me being bad at platforming, and that's where the upgrade was. The level design was incredibly well done, the enemies were just annoying enough before you could hit them that it felt satisfying to tear into them once you got the right upgrade.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

Metroidvania! :D Love it!

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20am

Overall, it's one of the better games. I liked the leveling up system, but the jumping did get tedious. There wasn't much that really amazed me, but there also wasn't much I can complain about, which is better than a lot of entries.

kevinAlbs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24am

Extremely well done. Graphics, music, and gameplay were all great. Only minor thing was that the jumping was a little to quick. But great job all around.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:36am

Really well put together. The music reminded me of Doom! Gravity was pretty strong for some of the jumps but I really liked it overall. Reminded me a bit of Metroid.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:40am

This was a great entry you guys did really well with this one. I immediately experienced nostalgia and it reminded me intensely of my childhood playing games the ilk of Duke Nukem1/2 etc. Captured the mood perfectly, the music was fantastic, the art was brilliant and the gameplay was the icing on the cake. The feeling I had when I upgraded my drill and went and stuck it to those ghosty bastards was awesome. Great job guys!

ahmeni says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Fantastic work! Glad to see another Futile user!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Love this! Great job

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:37am

Great game, best mining related game I've see so far, very well done and very pretty too. Music is great as well! Very good game overall.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

Nothing short of incredible. Great job!

drilltail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:50am

A LD Metroidvania, awesome! Love that you can fly with the drill.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:34am

Nice, this is a very slick experience considering the amount of time spent on it. The art is awesome, the level design is good, and the mechanics are simple and effective. Personally, the jump mechanic felt very temperamental, and either it should have been a little more consistant or the level design needed to be better balanced to accommodate the jump/double jump ease. It wasn't overtly difficult, but felt more difficult that you were probably aiming for. Loved the overall experience though.

KyleDAudio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nice, interesting mechanics and really fun to play through!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

I very much enjoyed this game! well done! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:48am

The actions are pretty cool! Well done.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The drilling mechanic feels good to play, good job about that.
The ambiance is also nice, even if the choice of colors may not be appropriate for some items (the recharge station looks like it could be an element in the background for exemple)

Good entry

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The level/enemy design was great, and there was quite a lot of content for a LD game! I had fun playing it, good job! :)

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Very well designed in all respects - the Metroidvania principles are all there, it's awesome to see sound design principles play out :) You maximised the limited enemy types and movements you had as a toolbox, and that was awesome :D

The only real gripe would be the core mechanic is a bit bland, I was hoping for something besides the drill, so having the strength go up but essentially doing the same thing over and over got a bit much.

Has real potential if that was just expanded on! Well done!

2HitAdam says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Good amount of gameplay for 72 hours! The metroidvania aspects were pretty well realised but I think a full version would need something slightly more versatile to upgrade than the drill -- using it to float later on was cool, but otherwise I think just having harder rocks to break to move forwards limited the gameplay a bit.

soy_yuma says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:56pm

It's purely gameplay, but it's good! I think it's well designed and the game is extremely fun. I missed some sort of story or reason for going forward. Maybe an ending? Good job anyway!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:41pm

good game, had fun playing

May 4, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice level design!

NickZangus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:57pm

One of the best entries I've tried so far... Great graphics, immersive audio and really fun to play! The keyboard control are pretty uncomfortable, It would be better to use a gamepad.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Just one word: impressive! This Metroid feel is just perfect, it's super polished, super addictive. Congrats!

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nicely done! The game's really well polished, and it looks and sounds great.

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:13pm

drilling is fun! liked the driller sprite and the audio adds up to a nice mood. not sure if the flying ability of the drill got stronger with the upgrades or i just didn't realise it until late

JavadocMD says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:58am

Classic metroidvania design. A very solid entry.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:38pm

This took forever to download in the Unity web player. Big game though, and worth playing and exploring around. I couldn't get past the black spectres in room after The Cave. I wish I had a better idea what my goals were.

terraco says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:19am

Metroid. So much Metroid! I'm now going to play through all previous Metroid games and get a divorce thanks to this :p

jtpup0 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:04pm

So much fun!, I wish was a greater variety in enemies and colors though

Tim Bumpus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:08am

Wow. There may not have been many enemies, but those that were there were really interesting and thought out. Falling spikes that fall UP and LEFT and RIGHT too? Awesome.

Some more variety in the graphics for the different areas would have been nice, though, if you're into criticism. If not for their names, they'd just be plain dirt holes.

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very innovative, like the game and graphics

Ditto says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:21am

The controls are really good! The drilling bechanic is really good, although drilling through "doors" is a bit annoying, it just takes a bit too long! Good game!

cageinabird says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:05am

I thought the player sprite looked like you had a little bit more range than you actually did. That aside, the enemies and player sprites looked great, and the controls were tight (don't recall missing a jump), and most importantly, it was well designed and fun to play.

I only got as far as the room beyond the corridor of purple ghosts. Thought I might have missed an upgrade, but apparently not.

zanenga says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Very nice entry! I like the drill mechanic and upgrades :)

mollymus says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:48am

Has a very nice touch to it, and its surprisingly fun! Good job!

paps says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Wow. This is amazing. The only complaint I have it's that I need to draw a map to escape those caves. Well done

May 9, 2014 @ 4:58am

Rock solid. Matt Thorson, look out!

Michael Grand says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

(slightly off topic, but: Nice! You have it up on Kongregate :D)

First impression was really good: I like the graphics, audio, and the core idea of the game.

Unfortunately I then spent about a minute trying to mine out a hole in the wall, eventually giving up; I am guessing you can't actually dig your way through everything, which I was originally expecting would be possible. Not necessarily a bad thing, just unexpected :) A similar thing happened when I tried to kill the ghosts, but the damage number "0" eventually gave it away.

It's a fun game!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Everything is awesome!

GFM says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:41am

Could be an awesome game! Keep working on it! :)
Flying with the drill while hitting enemies beneath was really fun! Also, the game was really polished!

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:13am

Nice to play, it could be easier to get the blue drill, as I spent a lot of time trying to push the blue ghost into the blue wall, thinking it will activate them :D

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Great Genesis-sounding music! It wasn't a problem for me, but the passageways should have the same destroyed rock sprite on both sides so that the player doesn't mistake an exit for a wall. Loved it!

Jason Lay says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Woah, I loved the sounds! The graphics were good too! Fun little game, I love the instructions as you go along.

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Really nice overall! Good controls, feel and music, nice job!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very well done, this is a good game! Nice to see that we can upgrade the weapon. Music and sounds are fine and suit to the mood ;)

NightShadow0 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Love this game, i'd dare say it's the best drilling game i've played in this LD, save for one thing. The drill flight is REALLY unresponsive, i couldn't get it to work half the time, which made me quit at the mandatory flight bit in The Cave. Great work otherwise!

7elephants says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Very good game with an original drillin' twist!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]