Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Roots Of Evil

by JaviCepa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"A strange meteorite has landed in the middle of the night.
Tommy feels an evil presence outside and decides to take a look..."

Pick up your shears and fight the evilish Roots of Evil (TM) during three amazing minutes of vegetal gameplay.

I almost had no time in this LD so I decided to go for a GB style. I only had 12 hours but I am really glad with the result.
I hope you enjoy!

Controls: Left/Right arrows + "X"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#67Theme3.93
#94Overall3.83
#124Fun3.65
#128Innovation3.78
#154Audio3.49
#177Graphics3.83
#185Mood3.52
#277Humor2.93

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:06am

I love the graphics. The gameplay is really well balanced and scales nicely. Thanks for the game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Really enjoyed this one!

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Exactly the right amount of difficulty to be a lot of fun and just below frustrating! Loved this entry!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Frustrating, but original. Neat concept, mood, and gameplay. Hurts my wrist to slam x so much though.

baboum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

You sir, made a great game <3

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

ABSOLUTELY loved it! The best game I've played so far! 5 out of 5 stars, amazing work! <3

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

The first game I rate in LD29.

I though about the pix that I'm gonna be the evil :/ still a nice survival game BTW with amazing graphics and music.

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

It's quite depressing... in a good way. The game reminded me 'Inevitable' theme from rounds 1-4 that didn't get chosen. Great feel and great game.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice! Very playable.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

Loved the graphics and the way you set up the night/moon/time thing. :)

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

very nice retro feel, if anything the controls feel a little too smooth. is there a way to regain hearts?

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Interesting concept, was fun to play. But I had problems with the difficulty. I just can't beat it! :D How the game would play with jumping?

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Simple and nice! Really moody music and the GB colors fit it nicely. :)

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Great evilish evil root fun. Though I never managed the 3m my best strategy was to halfway through abandon one side and just cut on the other. They never seemed to sprout right on-top of the the seed making it quite a lot easier to have one side pest-free.

I would have liked a stronger "you are standing in the thing your are cutting"-indication. Or actually being repelled back some.

Many shots, especially those going up, seemed quite harmlesss. It would have been cool if they could seed new plants.

Really great game though, had fun trying and dying.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Great, well implemented idea. Some slight graphical glitches, tiles looked like they were 1 pixel out of alignment.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Awesome! The game is a total challenge. Love the graphics and the music.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Can't get past the last 30 seconds. Frustrating but fun! Nice job :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

nice mini game. well balanced difficulty

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Nice game!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

Love the gameboy style, a very unique game with a clever use of being beneath the surface.
Bit difficult though.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Really well made, was really difficult but getting better at the game really paid off when you win the game. especially with the self applause.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

OW MY FINGERS! OW! But really I had fun so it's okay. :)

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

Hmm, web player version isnt working for me at all. Anyone else having this issue?

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

There is something deeply unsettling about this game, and cute at the same time.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Pretty cool game. I'm liking the Gameboy aesthetic. Starts off a bit slowly but soon picks up. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

That is 3 very long minutes! My left hand is sore as hell and I still cant survive the last minute.
Very original and great take on the theme. Good job!

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31am

nice game... cool idea, and love the visuals. would be even better if the plants flashed or something when you snipped them, it doesn't feel like you're actually damaging them

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

The game have a clear theme going, the bullets are not handled in a good way however making the challenge pretty odd.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

It's a really retro game very very fun.
El juego me ha encantado, la música retro es lo único que me taladraba los oidos, por lo demás genial. Puedes probar por ejemplo a convertir midis con http://solmire.com/ y sacar las pistas en mp3 con buenos resultados, para futuros proyectos.
Un saludo y enhorabuena por el juegazo!

PriorBlue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:22am

Funny idea and a nice GB pixel art.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37am

This is a lovely, minimalistic game. I've played a few times but been unable to beat it at any point... there's something great about how you can see the roots coming, but you can't necessarily keep track of them. It feels inevitable, and your weapon is larger than you, but the enemy is so much larger than it... you've done a really excellent job of making a simple game with a complex emotion attached. Great work!

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I loved this one! It's wonderfully challenging. It has great aesthetics. It's pure awesomeness.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:47am

Plant Song, the doom, song of plants, the song. I listened to the song and I was led into the maw of evil and clacked my clippers futilely all the way down, good song.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Loved this! I loved the graphics and the audio. Really well done, especially if you really only had 12 hours to work on it.

DragonXVI says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Lovely little minimalist game. Great twist on the theme too! Very well presented and all round pretty cool! :D

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:00am

Cool game. Could do with a little polish here and there, but I really enjoyed it

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice sound, and graphics. I also like the different plants.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Hi. Very tough... Like the graphics and the algorithm around the roots, seems to second-guess me.. not that hard but still! Good job.

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Surprisingly difficult for just surviving 3 minutes! Nicely tactile feeling on the shears. Good gameplay and simple but effective graphics. Love it!

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice game. Loved the idea and execution. Gameplay felt more Game&Watch-ey than GameBoy, thought.

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:42am

Simple but fun! Cool art and music.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Streamed this. I could've used some more threats until the last minute, the difficulty curve is kind of exponential. Maybe you could've incorporated the branches into the gameplay somehow (like being able to prevent monsters from spawning). Randomness in arcadey games like this is kind of cheap, and this could've used more tweaking than some 12 hours.

May 11, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Really fun game! Loved it. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:45pm

This game is difficult. I like it. Fun with foliage!

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:16am

Novel gameplay. Reminds me of an early 80's arcade game. The graphics are pure GameBoy, but the music sounds like an Atari 2600. Not bad.

pansapiens says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:45am

Great fun - wish I could whip something like this up in just 12 hours ! There was a moment where I thought the difficultly curve wasn't ramping up fast enough ... and then I quickly started dying ... so it's probably just right :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]