Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Covers

by Ismei - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not what I set out to make, but I am quite pleased with the look of it. And this was my first attempt at making music for a game, so that was a new challenge.

Description - You are tired after work and head beneath your duvet to get ready for bed.

This was made in GameMaker. I used Bosca Ceoil for the music and paint.net for the art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#424Audio2.96
#669Humor2.28
#707Mood2.83
#835Theme2.92
#880Innovation2.63
#1148Graphics2.15
#1204Overall2.30
#1242Fun1.72
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Liked the music and the dreamy colours of the backgrounds.

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34pm

The Game is boring but it's okay.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Short and sweet. The music is not bad! Fits the game pretty nicely.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

lovely game (- : i like the idea behind it!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice idea... might not exactly qualify as a game, but as a visual novel it has some nice ideas maybe worth exploring - visual novels are usually so dark and depressing, some "happy" ones might be good to see once in a while!

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Thanks for the comments. I know it's not really a game, it was initially going to be an action type game involving fighting off sleep monsters (teddy bears) with pillows amongst other things, but the gameplay ended up getting slashed due to time constraints.

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice music and idea. The shortest entries are usually the best.

abayb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Very nice! It was somewhat confusing when the game quit out of nowhere though.

Kaoin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

love the idea of going under each cover to discover something new. Although there was not much gameplay.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Short but a lovely game.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26am

Very cute and atmospheric, made me feel warm inside. Great idea and theme interpretation too. Too short and gameplay lacking, but has great potential.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I liked the idea.

May 2, 2014 @ 5:01am

Pretty creative idea!

JoeProgram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:13am

I like the interpretation of the theme. A hidden object mechanic - where you have to identify your items under the covers - could make it a more satisfying experience.

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:58pm

hmm the music is ok imo, however I could not find the game itself. Its more like a story?

May 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

If it was a child who made this, then great job! Keep making games, those were some cute animals.

Otherwise... Well. Try harder next time!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]