Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine of Death

by tsjost - Jam Entry

You're deep under the sea in a submarine while getting attacked by evil squids!
Move around with WASD or arrow keys and kill all the squids by shooting torpedos with spacebar!
Good luck!

Written in C++ with SFML 2.
Programmed by iostream (me) in about 10 hours and most art and sound effects created by my nephew.

Thanks zsbzsb for the Windows build!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

Great Game! Could play all day :D Made it to level 5 :D great work! GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49am

Your nephew is brilliant. Unless he's like 27-years-old. Unless he's handicapped... then I'm just an asshole.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

Monsters killed: 192
Torpedoes fired: 219

It ramps up quickly. D:

It's simple, but fun. And it feels fair, I never had them spawn in a way that seemed impossible. Nice little piece, and props for getting your nephew involved! :D

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice! I managed to get to level 21 with a score of 355 before dying.

I did discover that you can destroy multiple squid with a single torpedo if you clump them together. I managed to get 212 squids with only 69 torpedos like that.

Gallefray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Ahh I can't play because it's 64 bit only :(
You can recompile for 32bits with the -m32 flag with GCC AFAIK

Gallefray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

I was unable to run the entry because I'm on a 32 bit machine :(

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06pm

cool game, really simple but fun!

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:21am

I liked the random starting positions, making it unexpectedly challenging depending on luck. Incrementing the number of enemies guarantees the game is fun.

Crefossus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:08am

Like the thought that went into the collisions (instead of rage inducing bounding box) and the artwork is stylish/consistent.
The gameplay could use some kind of resource management or thought provoking enemies/ai as time goes on.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Freaking awesome sound effects!

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:35am

The art is amazing. Even if it wasn't drawn by your nephew it would still be amazing. My only gripe is having not being able to shoot left/up/down and thus having to loop around the squids often.

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:11am

I like the art assets :D The little POOF explosion thing is excellent, and the letters/numbers are pretty sweet

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]