Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond our World

by Neonlare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Swim through alien oceans, flowing tides and rippling waves collecting as many of your scattered eggs as possible, avoiding dangers, feeding on prey to restore your energy and explore the waters of another world with a wide array of dynamic sounds and ambient music in this Zen-like exploration based game."

CONTROLS: Hold the left mouse button to guide your direction and velocity, and release to swim forth. If you travel fast enough you will dive at the direction of your choice, being able to defeat predators and other harmful creatures that inhabit this ocean. Search each screen for your eggs, which will revive you one point of health and for prey, which will provide you with the energy required to swim. Try to gather as much score as possible, whilst letting the ambiance play out around you.

PERSONAL NOTES:

This has been a pretty damn, damn interesting experiment. I'll get onto details pretty shortly...

Whether you have any kind of faith or not, whether you believe in reincarnation, or preincarnation or whatever incarnations that may or may exist, I decided after much thought to build my game based on a very strong, very prominent dream, vision, out of body experience or what have you that I had experienced a while ago. It's nothing much I'm sure, but I hope
that it provides you with something worth-while.

I don't usually delve into these kind of things I find it very hard to explain it to people. I'm fully aware of these
experiences to be nothing more than my imagination running riot in my head or hallucinations or other forms of fancy
but this is something quite personal to me, in a holistic, quasi-spiritual manner, and while I'm not quite 100%
Buddhist in my viewpoints and beliefs I do tend to find myself swaying towards this world faith far more than the
others I know of, for some reason it seems to make more sense to me, that there isn't an all-caring God watching us
at every moment, but the potential of a far greater existence to our own and our current lives is something that
I do genuinely believe in be it God or the Universe or whatever you want to call it.

This game was built upon one of these experiences I had, where I was swimming through an alien world with bizarre and unusual creatures but with a strange sense of familiarity. Beyond our World is really more of a sandbox more than anything else, there is a score-count, but a lot of it's focus is on the ambiance of the ocean itself.

I hope folks enjoy it, it was a really interesting experiment and I'd definitely love to make some more ambient focused, dream/vision driven games sometime in the future.

Cheers! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#109Mood3.72
#174Audio3.44
#225Graphics3.73
#455Innovation3.20
#470Overall3.26
#528Theme3.30
#668Fun2.89
#892Humor1.96

Comments

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

I really enjoyed the hold-and-release swimming mechanics.
The ripple effect, blurriness and audio really worked together to create a surreal atmosphere. Well done.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

The moodiness of this was great. As was the inky darkness of the deep...where does it lead...wooooOOOooOOooo!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

Interesting idea, liked the sounds and music.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

I get the following error when trying to start the game (Win7X64) : "FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation ShaderName: shd_ray, D3DXCompile failed - result at gml_Object_o_back_Draw_0"

Neonlare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Cheers for the feedback guys!
Khalrin: That means you need to install DirectX3D. You don't have it on your PC, so it can't run some of the shaders this game uses. Hope this helps!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Relaxing atmosphere, like a lot the music and sounds

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

Reminds me of a really trippy ecco the dolphin. Nice game!

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Euphoric!

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Very interesting. The control scheme works really well - surprisingly intuitive.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Very well done. Everything came together very nicely.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Awesome gameplay mechanics!!
Keep it up!! :)

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

A simple but properly executed idea.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

awesome ambiant

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

Such relaxing, very ambient, so ocean. I'm not sure what to make of this, but in a good way. I got a high score of "2", but I'm not sure how.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

I really like the atmosphere in this game. I like how it is still fun and interesting to move around even though I have no idea what I'm doing. I explored and touched things for quite awhile. In the end I kept trying to touch a jellyfish creature and after the 3rd time I guess I died? It gave me a score of 3. I must say I was a bit disappointed that there was suddenly a score that appeared/stayed as a HUD on my screen. Seems like this gameplay doesn't quite fit with a explicit score. Anyway, I enjoyed the graphics, the audio work, and the weird wavey effect.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

Pretty neat concept, the mood was awesome!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice atmosphere. Just clicking around feels satisfying ;)

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:40am

looks very moody, and great overall. I did not quite understood what to do, though, but just swimming around is super cool.

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17am

The method of control is very original.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Can't play windows games, can we get a web version?

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:04pm

jomomomo: Sadly, I'm afraid it seems like the shaders I'm using won't let me export it to a web version. If anyone knows how to address this issue I'd gladly put up a web version, but atm it doesn't look possible from the errors it was spewing out last time I tried :<

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Wasn't really sure what I was doing, but the art was really nice!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Like you said, it's more of a sandbox than a traditional goal-oriented game. The atmosphere you created was superb, but without something to strive for I couldn't get lost in it like I wanted to.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Trippy and beautiful, but it was hard to tell why I was losing health at times, and what was prey and what wasn't, which made it frustrating, ruining the otherwise idyllic mood of it all.

PoQA Games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Really cool! The ambient feel of the game really stood out to me. I like the feeling of being deep in the ocean.

The audio was also strong, portraying the mood delicately and the sfx were unobtrusive and matched the "ebb and flow" of the art design nicely...

I also liked the water waviness, made the game feel larger then maybe it was...

The player messaging made the actual "game" confusing to me, but still interesting...:)

DrStahlbart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Thats a interesting concept! This reminds me in some way of the first levels of spore. Your audio fits very well to the mysterious alien ocean. Perfect for relaxing. :)

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I liked the atmosphere of the game, the sounds and the screen distortions really drag you in the game.

Very solid entry, good work! (sorry my bad english ^^')

harko12 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:39am

Nice use of the wavy effect, and cool sound!

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:17am

Love the graphics!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]