Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

RAD - Robot Assisted Digging

by pinion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first game using HaxeFlixel.
Sounds made in BFXR.
Tiles made in Paint.net

Notes:
Didn't have much time to work on it on Sunday so there aren't any sprite graphics.

I tried to put in support for you AZERTY users, hopefully it works ok!

If you find a bug where the player keeps moving, just press the movement keys until it stops. I couldn't replicate so I couldn't fix it, sorry!

RAD - Robot Assisted Digging

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move,
WASD (or ZQSD for AZERTY) to fire mining robots,
Space to dig out nearby using a bomb
Enter to retire to your house (you must stand on it)

HOW TO PLAY:
Try to get all the gold before running out of supplies across 3 levels.

Pick up pings to detect the deposits
Use robots to dig earth
Robots are destroyed by digging rocks
Robots stop when out of fuel, pick them back up
When stopped they act as local detectors
Once you are out of robots and bombs, or you have all the gold go to the house and press Enter to finish

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#151Innovation3.71
#339Theme3.51
#467Fun3.11
#544Overall3.19
#804Audio2.26
#965Humor1.83
#1024Mood2.42
#1166Graphics2.09

Comments

LewisG0400 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Fun and quite hard sometimes.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I enjoyed the retro theme. Good fun.

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Great and fun!))) 16/20 ))

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Interesting concept.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

57 loot overall! Nifty idea, good memory mechanic. Would've been cool to see new obstacles in the other levels.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

This is a pretty solid game. It runs well and has a good mechanic, although it would be nice to have a little bit more detailed sprites for the character, house, and robots. I thought the mechanic was well implemented, although there technically is no way to lose (although that's not necessarily a bad thing :) ) All things considered, I think it was well done.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Good fun! There is a bug sometimes where the player moves in one direction constantly, but it can be fixed by spamming the movement keys. A nice little puzzle to pass the time.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

The core gameplay is all there and quite fun, even with the basic graphics it has. It definitely has a lot of potential!

wheelsx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

If this came out as an atari game back in the day, it would have been revolutionary. It's quite fun, I'm a sucker for true retro games.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Good use of tilemap destruction, and provides an interesting resource management problem. Maybe there should have been a 'gate' to the next level, like collect X gold to progress?

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I got a really bad memory :/, hard and fun game. (AZERTY work well)

petrih says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Like it!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Excelent entry, with some more polish/mechanics, this could be awesome! Nice going!

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Great game, though I wasn't sure what the green squares were, they usually just turned out to be dang rocks :D. Really fun though GJ!.

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I liked having to remember where everything was (although I found it easier when there were blocks) and having to go and pick up the robots to reuse them. I enjoyed playing this game.

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Really cool idea for a game, it was a bit tough for me, but I really like the mechanics.

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Liked this idea.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:07am

Interest idea. Good game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Interesting mechanic. It took me a while to figure out what I was supposed to be doing, but once I got there I quite enjoyed the concept. It would be interesting to see what you do with this post-compo.

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:29am

Really good! I got 19/20 and a rare on the first try:) A bit of strategy and a lot of memory.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:48am

Good idea! The controls snagged on me a little but I was able to recover and keep playing. Not bad!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]