Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sinking Tower

by eugman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires .net 4.0 and OpenGl. It doesn't seem to run for some, so I tried porting it to DirectX. Unfortunately I couldn't get the sound to work.

I'm hoping to see if I can port it to Linux soon.

How to play:
Click on the tower types below to select your tower. Then click above to add towers. The more towers you add, the faster everything sinks.

Tower types:
Base: just delays the sinking
Gun: basic turret
Cash: income producer:
Lift: has a negative weight, used to stabilize other towers
Multi: shoots in all directions
Range: shoots faster and longer distances

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#133Innovation3.76
#415Fun3.18
#544Overall3.19
#707Theme3.09
#719Humor2.21
#801Audio2.27
#1010Mood2.44
#1138Graphics2.18

Comments

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Doesn't seem to work for me. Double-click on the exe, nothing happens.

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

great idea and well done! i liked it very much.

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Runs OK for me. Sooo, the towers sink, that's interesting. Would need to be more balanced to keep me playing, it's a bit too easy. But the idea is interesting!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

This is a pretty awesome prototype. Five stars for innovation, I love the idea, it's a really refreshing departure from the brainlessness of most tower defense. I would actually recommend at least considering axing the "lift" element, as I felt the game was much more interesting before I had built them, when I thought everything I built was bound to be impermanent. Also you might want to work on your art, since from the screenshot I wasn't expecting much. Oh and the music doesn't seem to loop. Nice job though!

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Yeah for some people it doesn't run, I wish I know why. I was able to half port it to directx, so hopefully that helps.

I appreciate everyone's feedback!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Neat little tower defense-esque game with a unique twist.

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

really cool game design and a great idea. i played this for a lot longer than i thought i would. please continue development after LD, there is some serious potential in this

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51pm

very cool game, too bad for the sound (couldn't have the open gl version to work)
I think you have something here, you should continue to work on this game

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Really cool idea, I wish there was a goal though, and the game becomes really easy once you started placing lifts. Good work.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Excellent idea for a game mechanic!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

Wow, cool mechanic!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:51am

Very cool mechanics. Highly innovative. I needed several attempts to survive the fisrt minutes, but when you have enough money nothing can happen anymore.
Maybe increasingly difficult enemies would be a good idea.

SecularBaron says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

This is a really awesome idea. It's rare to see a defensive game with an innovative twist.

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:28am

Neat gameplay concept. While brainstorming, I came up with the exact opposite idea, haha. I'd like to see some more balance as well. Keep it rockin!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:12am

This was actually a very unique and fun game! With some time and expanding on the ideas it could be something really cool!

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:26am

Interesting mechanic!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:54am

The concept is interesting. If there's update, I'd love to see it. :)

mystakin says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Took me a second to get the hang of it, but I really like the strategy involved with the lift object. Bummer about the DirectX lack of sound.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]