Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gubble Quest

by Somfunambulist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on the little guy to start the game. WASD to move, mouse to interact. Click on inventory items to use them.

Play as Gubble, a subterranean creature who just wants to return to his home in the basement. Explore the house of your mysterious captor as you search for clues to help you escape his clutches!
When you're finished, compare times, and compete with your friends to be first to discover all of the game's hidden secrets!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#108Graphics3.98
#129Mood3.68
#181Humor3.19
#273Audio3.22
#278Overall3.47
#292Fun3.37
#757Innovation2.79
#1129Theme2.29

Comments

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

unfortunately I received a fatal error while playing when I clicked on some shattered glass on the first floor. See below:

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Mouse Event for Left Button
for object O_Glass:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.Able(100008, -1)
at gml_Object_O_Glass_Mouse_0
############################################################################################

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Got the same error. Really like it so far though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Should be fixed now, thanks for letting me know!

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

I don't know how to start the game. Press enter: start menu item disappears, but nothing else happens.

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Aw, it installs fine and starts, but clicking "start" doesn't do anything.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Sorry, you click on the little icon, not on the text. If that doesn't work I'm not sure what's wrong, because it works fine on my end.

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

no linux version :(

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

I love it! Couldn't figure out what to do after getting the lighter though.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

no bugs, really nice! likes the graphics.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

Incredibly charming and well executed. GUI seems to have a bit of a depth issue with one of the table tops. I want a gubble.

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

I love the combination of RPG and point-and-click adventure. Theme felt like it was tossed in as an afterthought. The puzzles were pretty good considering the time constraint and I really dig the little green character.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08am

That is just so cute! So small so fun and so curious!!
I love it tells when you check on stuff!
R.I.P: Mr. Stick-ples

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Tried again, this time no bugs to be found. I got further, but got stuck when I got the lighter and freed the robot. I think I see the progression to get to the basement, but I can neither fill the cup nor open the right door, and I've run out of ideas. Despite that this is a great game with a lot of character. I'll probably try again later when I have a fresh perspective.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I quit playing because i couldn't figure out what to do after getting the lighter.. :(
I don't really see how the game corresponds to the theme, but maybe that's because i didn't finish it. Other than that i really loved playing it, it felt really nice and i really dig the mood!

Zerod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nice Graphics

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I really liked the aesthetic and the audio and the game play is pretty fun as well

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

What an incredibly charming game. The slightly off sense of humor with the invisible glass and small soft human is great.

One thing I would try to avoid in the future is using dialog boxes to give information. I'd try to do it all in game in the future if only because your game looks beautiful and not being able to play it fulls screen all the way through (alt-enter) makes me sad.

I loved this entry though. Didn't have much to do with the theme however.

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I really like it, although messages in the error box are annoying

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Please do not use an installer. Some nice ideas. Have the same problems as most point and click games.

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice game! Controls are a bit stiff, I would have liked to move in 45 degree angle. Graphics and light effects were great! The lightning sound created some mood. Some sound effects were a bit too loud comparing to others sounds but that wasn't nothing serious. I didn't finish the game but Still, I really liked it! :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Beautiful and fun game, no bugs for me.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I had to quit because I didn't know what to do with the lighter. :( Loved it though, wish I couldh ave gone further! D:
Awesome art, too.

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really cute game. Only thing that bugged me was that all the text was through windows dialogue boxes. Great job!

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Hehe this is cute, I loved the little boots. I'll have to play it again and see if I can find any secrets. The time score doesn't make much sense in a game like this, though :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Now that I've seen that Ellian has provided a walkthrough for "Where is my Bone?", I feel inclined to give you guys a hand:
Click on the drawers in the kitchen to open them up, providing a ramp you can use to get on the counter.

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

very fun! I couldn't find any secrets though :-(

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

This was neat. Love the graphical style. Hard to figure out what to do at times.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Couldn't figure out what to do

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Cool! Had that old adventure game sense of confusion for a while, but got the hang of it eventually (and the one room, pretty macabre).

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Complex and joyful :)

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

Okay, played the game again. That's not such a happy and cheerful game anymore. I think I understand the theme a lot more in this game; it's the game itself that has a lot more beneath the surface. Haven't found all the secrets yet (got three so far), but the game is very much different if you start to look for them. I'll give it one more go a little later once I play some others.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07am

Really fun little adventure game - the opening text was really well written and all the little details like rain in the window and dripping water gives it a great atmosphere. Nice pixel art and palette choice - the title screenshot doesn't do the rest justice. I got stuck after getting the lighter, but I'll try to continue later. (Minor non-game related gripes: Installers suck, zipped folders rule for LD48. Also there must be better popup-free file host than Mediafire .. MEGA or Google Drive maybe ?)

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:30am

I say this on every game that has the Yoyo installer, PLEASE just use the .exe. I don't want to have to install stuff! Click'n'play baby!

This game is adorable. You have a really good way with the dialogue with the player. The gubble is really cute especially his idle animation. The lightning is really good. I did find a bug on the opening screen the first time I played it where I pushed space and then it didn't let me do anything. I also got stuck (and it seems before other people.. I couldn't even get the lighter...). I had the cup and the boots on, but I couldn't figure out how to get anything else. Oh well... I find it a bit funny that you have this really good looking room switching system and lightning effect, then funny little things like using dialog boxes (show_message I believe) for the dialogue, and GUI rendering under the table bug. But those are completely excusable this being a jam. Also your gubble on the start menu looks a lot like a dick drawing. That opening effect btw when you bang off the key is beyond good. Great job on that

May 1, 2014 @ 5:19am

I actually didn't know it used an installer until it was brought up. Has it always had an installer? Because last ludum dare i didn't have this problem, and i didn't do anything differently. I will definitely switch it out though.

SlamBlasta says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:49am

I really disliked having to install the game on my computer, and the dialogue pop-ups were annoying, but other than that, it was a cool game. Great graphics and sound effects!

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:44am

Gubble is adorable!

BoneDaddy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Yeah when you click "Create Application" using GM now you gotta make sure it saves it as "Single runtime executable" instead of "Windows NSIS Installer" under "Save as type"

May 3, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I just made a post about the future of Gubble Quest, and how you can get involved! You should give it a read!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/03/gubble-quest-update/

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I'm still getting that error when clicking on a shattered glass. Never played the game before so it's not a local cache problem. I loved the game though, very cute graphics and description text.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Woops, accidentally reverted to an older version when I re-exported it. Should all be fixed now!

May 4, 2014 @ 10:01am

Nice work putting it on steamworks!

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:11am

That dialogue system is annoying -_- The rest pretty very well made, I really like the athmosphere generated by the sounds. How is the game related to the theme?

May 4, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Your quest is to return "below the surface" where you live

SK16Games says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Cool to see other people using Game Maker as well :) I don't know if I'm missing something, but some things I just can't reach, and I've tried with all the tools, and from more positions. So I kinda gave up :( Besides that, I love the graphics, and the thunder which really gave it some mood points. Nice entry ;D

May 11, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I just finished the final version of Gubble Quest I plan to work on. You can get it here: https://gumroad.com/l/gubble
REMEMBER not to let this more polished version influence your voting!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]