Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Squddingly Splendid Diving Simulator

by Cryovat - Jam Entry

A Lemmings-like puzzle game that ultimately got mer'ed by technical issues. It cod have been batter, but as it is, it's too scampi on content.

The general idea was that you assist a group of deep sea treasure hunters by dropping supplies and stuff from above. Blowing up rocks, dropping air tanks and generally helping them along on the way to survival and riches.

Unfortunately, I underestimated the time required to get into an unfamiliar library, and spent most of the time cursing at things not working. So in the end, I'm left with something that looks and sounds nice, but still has a whale lot of bugs. :/

I think there's a glimmer of a potential in the concept though.

Known bugs (fixable by level restart):

* Sometimes a diver will decide that the bell/treasures are impassable
* Physics can get wonky, with stuff being pushed all over the place
* If there are multiple treasures, the divers may pick the most idiotic of alternatives

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Fun(Jam)3.90
#57Overall(Jam)3.80
#62Innovation(Jam)3.80
#93Theme(Jam)3.75
#94Graphics(Jam)4.20
#132Mood(Jam)3.63
#422Audio(Jam)2.94
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

AutumnGuy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

This was pretty fun! Good job!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice concept!

microapple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56am

Loved the AI! Nice job.

person124 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

That was fun. I did however notice a glitch. On the first level with dynamite it took me three attempts because the diver wouldn't get back into the pod; he just stood next to it and drowned.

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

I love it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

Really nice game! Pretty fun except for the low oxygen sound :P

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59am

That was very enjoyable, would like to play more levels. Also great job on the amount of puns in your description

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01am

Well, it was fun. Pretty short but fun! Artworks are pretty nice, and sound is too. The concept was pretty interesting, pretty sad to hear about those problems, would like to see more of it, and the air tanks, which never made an appearance.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Thanks guys. :D

@microapple: To give credit where credit is due; the grunt work of the AI is done by the A* implementation in Impact++. I just sabotaged it and made it stupid. :D
@person123: Yeah. I haven't been able to get to the bottom of it. :(
@muramasa: Thanks. The air tanks are actually all there, but

DrMelon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Pretty fun! With some expansion it'll be a neat little puzzle game. I like the way the divers know if they're low on air and know the distance to the diving bell.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Snowman woooooooo

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:37am

Nice idea, wish there were more levels.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great game! Too bad it's so short, it was really fun. I hope you will extend it in the future, I would like to see more of this concept.
Also very nice graphics. There is still room for improvement, but you did a very good job!

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Cool idea, has potential. The limitation of only being able to drop things from the surface could really create some interesting challenges.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Definitely wish there were more levels. Very fun for what there is. Great graphics too! I'm not even squidding!

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:46am

The game looks great. I think some ambient music of some sort would have been nice, but the puns in the description are amazingly fishy, and the game was fun (while it lasted).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]